To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

Division Home 
Sign Up For Updates 
Accountability and Testing Results 
NC Testing Program 
NC Final Exams 
Policies and Procedures 
Testing Students with Disabilities 
Testing Students Identified As Limited English Proficient 
CCSA Conference 
Accountability Directory 
. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .

North Carolina Checklist of Academic Standards (NCCLAS)– Eliminated Effective July 1, 2009

Elimination of the NCCLAS

The North Carolina Checklist of Academic Standards (NCCLAS), an alternate assessment adopted by the NC State Board of Education (SBE) primarily used for limited English proficient (LEP) students, is a checklist completed by teachers to indicate a student’s academic achievement of grade-level content standards. The NCCLAS alternate assessment has been available for LEP students whose length of enrollment is less than 24 months from date of initial enrollment in U.S. schools and who meet score requirements on the language proficiency assessment, per SBE policy. NCCLAS has also been available for students with disabilities who are unable to access the general assessment even with the use of accommodations and assistive technology.

All assessments are required to go through a peer review by the United States Department of Education (USED).  Due to various technical qualities of the test, it has been determined that the NCCLAS is not approved for use in North Carolina for the 2009–2010 school year and beyond.

With the discontinuation of the assessment, students who are currently designated to take the NCCLAS would need to take the general assessment with accommodations.

Additional information on the NCCLAS tests administered prior to 2009.