INDIAN EDUCATION—FORMULA GRANTS TO LOCAL EDUCATION AGENCIES (TITLE VII)

Funded through the U.S. Department of Education, Indian Education Formula Grant (Title VII) programs support the efforts of school districts, Indian tribes and organizations, postsecondary institutions, and other entities to meet the unique educational and culturally related academic needs of American Indian and Alaska Native students so that they can meet the same challenging state academic standards as all other students.
http://www2.ed.gov/programs/indianformula/index.html

 

What Can Title VII Funding Be Used For?

Indian Education Formula Grants (Title VII) funds supplement the regular school program. For Indian children, programs are designed to

  • Supplement the regular school program
  • Strengthen proficiency in the core content areas (Reading, Math, Science)
  • Provide enrichment programs that would otherwise be unavailable
  • Support after-school programs, early childhood education, tutoring, and dropout prevention

Eligibility
Who May Apply: Local Education Agencies (LEAs)
In order to participate in the Title VII Indian Education Formula Grant program, eligible applicants must have a minimum of 10 Indian students enrolled in the Local Education Agency or not less than 25 percent of the total number enrollment.

Additional Information
For more information on Indian Education Formula Grants to Local Education Agencies, visit http://www2.ed.gov/programs/indianformula/index.html or contact the local district representative listed below.

Local Indian Education Formula Grant Recipients in North Carolina
 
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
District Contact: Earnest Winston
earnest.winston@cms.k12.nc.us

Clinton City Schools
District Contact: Shirley Williams
swilliams@clinton.k12.nc.us

Columbus County Schools
District Contact: Kenwood Royal
kenwoodroyal@columbus.k12.nc.us

Cumberland County Schools
District Contact: Darlene Holmes Ransom
darleneransom@ccs.k12.nc.us

Graham County Schools
District Contact: Ned Long
nlong@graham.k12.nc.us

Guilford County Schools
District Contact: Angela Lynch
lyncha@gcsnc.com

Halifax County Schools
District Contact: Dottie Umstead
umsteadd@halifax.k12.nc.us

Haliwa-Saponi Tribal School
District Contact: Gwen Richardson
grichardson@hstsedu.org

Hoke County Schools
District Contact: Elizabeth Mitchell
emitchell@hcs.k12.nc.us

Jackson County Schools
District Contact: Mike Treadway
mtreadway@swainmail.org

Person County Schools
District Contact: Paula Chandler
chandlerp@person.k12.nc.us

Richmond County Schools
District Contact: Billie Allen
billieallen@richmond.k12.nc.us

Public Schools of Robeson County
District Contact: Connie Locklear
connie.locklear@robeson.k12.nc.us

Scotland County Schools
District Contact: Terrence McAllister
tmcallister@scotland.k12.nc.us

Swain County Schools
District Contact: Mike Treadway
mtreadway@swainmail.org

Wake County Public School System
District Contact: Gwen Locklear
glocklear@wcpss.net

Warren County Schools
District Contact: Cheona Davis
chdavis@warrenk12nc.org