NC ACCESS PROGRAM

NOTE :: Various file formats are used on this page that may require download. If larger than 1mb, it will take longer to download. For instructions or more information, please visit our download page.


In 2018, the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction was awarded a Public Charter Schools Program (CSP) grant from the U.S. Department of Education of approximately $26,600,000. The CSP grant will be used to implement the North Carolina Advancing Charter Collaboration and Excellence for Student Success (NC ACCESS) Program to:

  1. Increase the number of educationally disadvantaged students attending high quality charter schools and expand the number of high quality charter schools available to educationally disadvantaged students;
  2. Develop a cohort of 100 charter school leaders who can develop and demonstrate best practices in serving educationally disadvantaged students; and
  3. Broadly disseminate best practices in serving educationally disadvantaged students and foster collaboration in the charter school community and between charter schools and traditional public schools.

The NC ACCESS Program has allocated the majority of the CSP funds to advance Priority 1 listed above through school-level subgrants. Learn more about applying for a subgrant below.

Letters of Intent for implementation beginning in the 2019-2020 school year are due by 5:00pm (EST) on February 15, 2019.

Subgrant applications for implementation beginning in the 2019-2020 school year are due by 5:00pm (EDT) on March 31, 2019.

For all NC ACCESS Program questions, please contact us at NCACCESS@dpi.nc.gov or 919.807.3491.


Resources for Applicants

NC ACCESS Program Overview | (pdf, 558kb)

NC ACCESS Subgrant Application Process Guidance | (pdf, 909kb)

NC ACCESS Subgrant Request for Application (RFA) | (pdf, 875kb)

NC ACCESS Subgrant RFA Budget Template | (xlsx, 67kb)

NC ACCESS Subgrant Application Scoring Rubric | (pdf, 965kb)


Technical Assistance for Applicants

The NC ACCESS team will be holding information and training sessions throughout January, February, and March 2019 to assist prospective applicants with the subgrant application process.


Regional Technical Assistance Sessions
The NC ACCESS team will be providing in-person technical assistance and support to all prospective applicants. Use the schedule below to find a time and location near you. Registration is not required.


REGION DATE TIME LOCATION
North Central Thursday, January 24, 2019 10am – 12pm NCDPI Room 227, 301 N. Wilmington St., Raleigh, NC 27601
Western Wednesday, January 30, 2019 10am – 12pm NCCAT Room 113, 276 NCCAT Dr., Cullowhee, NC 28723
Piedmont-Triad Wednesday, February 6, 2019 10am – 12pm Phoenix Academy Primary, 4020 Meeting Way, High Point, NC 27265
North Central Tuesday, February 12, 2019 4pm – 6pm NCDPI DIT Room, 301 N. Wilmington St., Raleigh, NC 27601
Southeast Friday, February 22, 2019 10am – 12pm Douglass Academy, 507 N 6th St., Wilmington, NC 28401
Southwest Wednesday, March 6, 2019 1pm – 3pm Sugar Creek Charter, 4101 N Tryon St., Charlotte, NC 28206
North Central Wednesday, March 13, 2019 2pm – 4pm NCDPI DIT Room, 301 N. Wilmington St., Raleigh, NC 27601


Webinars
Tune in to the following webinars to learn more about the application process. Please watch the pre-recorded, informational webinar prior to joining a live webinar. The live webinars will be reserved primarily for Q&A.


TYPE DATE TIME WATCH
Pre-Recorded Webinar Posted January 22, 2019 N/A Watch
Live Webinar with Q&A Monday, February 25, 2019 10am – 11am Register
Live Webinar with Q&A Wednesday, March 20, 2019 10am – 11am Register


Office Hours
The NC ACCESS team will provide technical assistance through office hours when prospective applicants can call in to get additional support and have any questions answered. Reach out to us at 919.807.3491 during the times below to talk to a team member.


DATE TIME
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 9:00 – 11:00 am
Thursday, February 7, 2019 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 9:00 – 11:00 am
Thursday, February 14, 2019 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 9:00 – 11:00 am
Thursday, February 21, 2019 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Tuesday, February 26, 2019 9:00 – 11:00 am
Thursday, February 28, 2019 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 9:00 – 11:00 am
Thursday, March 7, 2019 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 9:00 – 11:00 am
Thursday, March 14, 2019 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 9:00 – 11:00 am
Thursday, March 21, 2019 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 9:00 – 11:00 am
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Thursday, March 28, 2019 9:00 – 11:00 am
Friday, March 29, 2019 2:00 – 4:00 pm