CONTACT :: Julie Joslin

English Language Arts

On June 2, 2010, North Carolina adopted the most recent K-12 English Language Arts (ELA) Standards. With this adoption, the standards became part of the North Carolina Standard Course of Study (NCSCoS).

The ELA Standards are based on research and evidence that describe the competencies necessary for all students to become college and career ready by the end of high school, outlining a vision of what it means to be a literate person in the 21st Century

Standards Design

Anchor Standards: The College and Career Ready (CCR) Anchor Standards offer general, cross disciplinary literacy expectations.

Grade-Specific Standards: The K-12 Grade-specific standards have a one-to-one correspondence with the College and Career Ready Anchor Standards. They provide end of the year expectations.

Individual grade levels are used K-8 to provide necessary specificity. Two-year grade bands are used in grades 9-12.

The ELA Standards are organized into four strands:

  • Reading (Informational and Literary)
    • Includes Reading Foundational Skills for K-5 students
  • Writing
  • Speaking and Listening
  • Language

Though the standards are divided into strands, the standards support an integrated model of literacy.

Instructional Support Tools