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THOSE ENTITLED TO ATTEND SCHOOL 
Article IX of the Constitution of North Carolina provides for a general and uniform system of free 
public schools to be provided throughout the state, wherein equal opportunities shall be provided for 
all students. 
 

I.  TUITION AND AGE 
 
All children of the State, ages 5 through 20, as provided in the law are entitled to attend the public 
schools.  Tuition is to be free of charge to all children of the State, and to every person of the State 
less than 21 years old who has not completed a standard high school course of study. (G.S. 115C-1)  
This age provision is modified in the case of children moving into the State to make it their legal 
residence after having entered school for their first year in the state from which they have moved.  
(G.S. 115C-364) 
 
Notwithstanding the provisions of any other statute and without regard for the place of domicile of a 
parent or guardian, the cost of a free appropriate public education for a child with special needs who 
is placed in or assigned to a group home, foster home, or other similar facility, pursuant to state and 
federal law, is to be borne by the local board of education in which the group home, foster home, or 
similar facility is located.  (G.S. 115C-140.1) 
 

II. THOSE ENTITLED TO ATTEND SCHOOL 
 
Unless otherwise assigned by the local board of education, the following students are entitled to 
attend the school in the district or attendance area in which they are domiciled: 

A. All students who have passed the fifth anniversary of their birth on or before August 31 of 
the year are entitled to enroll in the public schools.  (G.S. 115C-364) Prior to the 2010-2011 
school year, the entry date was Oct 16th. 

NOTE: - G.S. 115C-364 (a3) The child did not reach the age of 5 on or before August 31 of that 
school year, but has been attending school during that school year in another state in accordance 
with the laws or rules of that state before the child moved to and became a resident of North 
Carolina. 

 

B. A child who has passed the fourth anniversary of his/her birth on or before April 16 may 
enter kindergarten if presented for enrollment no later than the end of the first month of the 
school year and if the principal of the school finds, based on information submitted by the 
child's parent or guardian, that the child is gifted and that the child has the maturity to justify 
admission to the school.  The State Board of Education has established guidelines for the 
principal to use in making this finding; (G.S. 115C-364) 
  
NOTE: The following link may also be helpful for school entry age requirements 
http://stateboard.ncpublicschools.gov/legal-affairs/resources-1/school-entry-age 
 

C. All students under the age of 21 years who are domiciled in a school administrative unit who 
have not been removed from school for cause, or who have not obtained a high school 
diploma, are entitled to all the privileges and advantages of the public schools to which they 
are assigned by the local boards of education, (G.S. 115C-366).   Foreign Exchange students 
coming to North Carolina are not domiciles of North Carolina and must be enrolled as 

http://stateboard.ncpublicschools.gov/legal-affairs/resources-1/school-entry-age
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Visiting Students.  North Carolina domiciled students receiving their education as Foreign 
Exchange Students outside North Carolina must not be shown as enrolled in NC Public 
Schools during that time. 

D. It is the policy of the State that every child of a homeless individual and every homeless child 
have access to a free, appropriate public education on the same basis of all children who are 
domiciled in this State; (G.S. 115C-366) 

E. At the local board of education's discretion, students who are 21 years of age or older before 
the beginning of the school year in which they wish to enroll.  Tuition may be charged; (G.S. 
115C-366.1(a)(4)) 

NOTE: If a student is NOT identified as EC and starts school at the age of 21, the LEA would 
NOT get state funding for that student.  If the student is identified as EC, the LEA would 
get state funding until the student reached the age of 22. 

 

F. Children living in and cared for and supported by an institution established, operated, or 
incorporated for the purpose of rearing and caring for children who do not live with their 
parents are considered legal residents of the local education agency (LEA) in which the 
institution is located;  (G.S. 115C-366) 

G. A student who is not a domiciliary of an LEA may attend, without payment of tuition, the 
public schools of that LEA if the student resides with an adult domiciliary of that unit as a 
result of: the death, serious illness, or incarceration of a parent or legal guardian; the 
abandonment by a parent or legal guardian; the inability of the parent or legal guardian to 
provide adequate care and supervision due to his/her physical or mental condition; or the  
loss or uninhabitability of the student's home as a result of a natural disaster.  The student 
must not be under a term of suspension or expulsion, and affidavits must be completed by the 
adult with whom the student resides and the student's parent, guardian, or legal custodian; 
(G.S. 115C-366) 

H. Every deaf child and every blind child between the ages of six and 18 years of sound mind in 
North Carolina who shall be qualified for admission into a State school for the deaf or the 
blind shall attend a school that has an approved program for the deaf or the blind.  In the case 
of a blind child, such child may attend a public school for a term of not less than nine months 
each year.  (G.S. 115C-383) 

I. A student who is not a domiciliary of an LEA may attend, without payment of tuition, the 
public schools of that LEA if the parent or legal guardian is on active military duty and is 
deployed out of the LEA in which the student resides.  Evidence of the deployment must be 
provided prior to enrollment.  Active Duty Training for less than 30 days is excluded. (115c-
366) 

J. A student who is not a domiciliary of an LEA may attend, without payment of tuition, the 
public schools of that LEA, if the parent or legal guardian is a member or veteran of the 
uniformed services who is severely injured and medically discharged, but only for a period of 
one year after the medical discharge or retirement of the parent or legal guardian. 

K. A student who is not a domiciliary of an LEA may attend, without payment of tuition, the 
public schools of that LEA, if the parent or legal guardian is a member of the uniformed 
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services who dies as a result of injuries sustained on active duty, but only for a period of one 
year after the death. (115c-366) 

L. A student domiciled in one local school administrative unit may be assigned either with or 
without the payment of tuition to a public school in another local school administrative unit 
upon the terms and conditions agreed to in writing between the local boards of education 
involved and entered in the official records of the boards.  The assignment shall be effective 
only for the current school year, but may be renewed annually in the discretion of the boards 
involved. (115c-366) 

M. A foreign exchange student may not initially enroll and attend a charter school where that 
charter school has instituted a lottery for admission to the school and where that school has a 
wait list of students, domiciled in the State of North Carolina wanting to attend the school at 
the time the foreign exchange student is presented for enrollment. 

 
Residence and Domicile defined. - Residence simply indicates a person's actual place of abode, 
whether permanent or temporary, while domicile denotes one's permanent, established home as 
distinguished from a temporary, although actual, place of residence; furthermore, an unemancipated 
minor may not establish a domicile different from his parents, surviving parents, or legal guardian, 
but may reside in a place separate from his parents.  Place of employment has no inherent effect on 
the establishment of a domicile.  If a parent or legal guardian is employed by the school system but is 
domiciled outside North Carolina they are not entitled to attend school and must be considered 
Visiting Students. 
 
Foreign Exchange Student defined - A student, domiciled in a foreign county, which has come to the 
United States on a Student Visa (J-1) or a Cultural Exchange Visa (F-1) to participate in an 
educational study abroad program (one academic year or less) at a North Carolina public high school. 
 
USED and US DOJ opinions on the rights of all children to enroll in school is located at: 
www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/manuals/. 
 

III. PRIVATE AND HOME SCHOOL STUDENTS 
 
Local boards of education who choose to admit students for a portion of the school day who are 
enrolled in private schools or home schools must develop policies related to the admission and 
attendance of those students.  State tuition must not be charged. 

North Carolina Virtual Public School (NCVPS) class: 
Local boards of education may register non-public school students for a NCVPS class upon 
verification from the NCVPS that such enrollment will not exclude enrolled public school students 
from registering for the class.  The local board of education shall charge tuition, established by the 
State Board of Education in March of each year for all courses offered in the summer and following 
school year.  The State Board will identify the portion of the tuition to be retained by the local board 
of education. 

A non-public school student should have an Admission Status Code of Visitor – Standard Program 
on the demographics screen in PowerSchool.  Non-public school students should not be included on 
the Principal's Monthly Report. 

North Carolina Learn and Earn On-Line class:  
Non-public school students have access to Learn and Earn On-Line courses by directly registering 

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/manuals/
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through the established community college or university on-line course registration process.  
Therefore, non-public school students do not need to register through a public school. 

Home School: 
Prior to withdrawing a student, a parent or legal guardian must provide proof that the Notice of Intent 
to Operate a School form has been received by the Division of Non-Public Education (DNPE).  For 
further information, DNPE has a website at www.ncdnpe.org/ . 
 

IV. DEFINITION OF A SCHOOL 
 
A SCHOOL is an organizational subdivision of a school system consisting of a group of pupils 
composed of one or more grade groups, organized as one unit with an assigned principal, or person 
acting in the capacity of principal, to give instruction of the type defined in the North Carolina 
Standard Course of Study, and housed in a school plant of one or more buildings. 

http://www.ncdnpe.org/
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RULES AND REGULATIONS OF THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 
GOVERNING COMPULSORY SCHOOL ATTENDANCE 

AND STUDENT ACCOUNTING 
 
 

I.  COMPULSORY ATTENDANCE AGES 
 
In accordance with G.S. 115C-378, every parent, guardian, or custodian in North Carolina having 
charge or control of a student between the ages of 7 and 16 years shall cause the student to attend 
school continuously for a period equal to the time which the public school to which the student is 
assigned is in session.  Every parent, guardian, or custodian in North Carolina having charge or 
control of a child under age seven who is enrolled in a public school in grades Kindergarten through 
two shall also cause the child to attend school continuously for a period equal to the time which the 
public school to which the child is assigned shall be in session unless the child has withdrawn from 
school.  No person shall encourage, entice, or counsel any child of compulsory age to be unlawfully 
absent from school.  The parent, guardian, or custodian of a child shall notify the school of the 
reason for each known absence of the child, in accordance with local school board policy. 
 
The term "school" is defined to embrace all public schools and any nonpublic schools which have 
teachers and curricula that are approved by the State Board of Education. 
 

II. ASSIGNMENT AND ENROLLMENT 
 
Each local board of education is authorized and directed to provide for the assignment to a public 
school of each child residing within the local education agency (LEA) who is qualified under the 
laws of North Carolina for admission to a public school.  (G.S. 115C-366) 
 

III. REQUIREMENTS FOR ENTRANCE 
 
A. A child, to be entitled to initial entry in the public schools, must have passed the fifth 

anniversary of his/her birth on or before August 31 of the year in which the child is presented 
for enrollment, and must be presented for enrollment any time during the first 120 days of the 
school year.  (G.S. 115C-364) 

 
NOTE:  115C-364(c), 130A-109 - mandatory for the principal to require the parent to furnish 

a certified copy of the child's birth certificate. It permits when the certificate is not 
available for school authorities to accept "competent and verifiable evidence as 
secondary proof of age, specifically including but not limited to: (i) a certified copy 
of any medical record of the child's birth issued by the treating physician or the 
hospital in which the child was born, or (ii) a certified copy of a birth certificate 
issued by a church, mosque, temple, or other religious institution that maintain birth 
records of its members." The bill is silent on the time period for the parent to produce 
the birth certificate. (By contrast G.S. 130A-155 provides 30 days for immunization 
records). 

 
 
B. A child who has passed the fourth anniversary of his/her birth on or before April 16 may 

enter kindergarten if presented for enrollment no later than the end of the first month of the 
school year and if the principal of the school finds, based on information submitted by the 
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child's parent or guardian, that the child is gifted and that the child has the maturity to justify 
admission to the school.  The State Board of Education has established guidelines for the 
principal to use in making this finding.  (G.S. 115C-364) 

 
C. No child may attend a school (Pre-K-12), whether public, private, or religious, or a day-care 

facility as defined in G.S. 110-86(3), unless a certificate of immunization indicating that the 
child has received the immunizations required by G.S. 130A-152, is presented to the school 
or facility (G.S. 130A-155).  "In North Carolina, every child present in this State shall be 
immunized against diphtheria, tetanus, whooping cough, poliomyelitis, varicella (chicken 
pox), hepatitis B, haemophilus influenza type B (Hib), red measles (rubeola), mumps, and 
rubella."  See note under A above. 

 
D. No child (except hospital/homebound, staggered Kindergarten, Teacher-in-Treatment, or 

Medically Fragile) may be enrolled in school unless they are present at school on the date of 
enrollment. 

 
E. When a student transfers into the public schools of an LEA, the local board of education shall 

require that the student's parent, guardian, or custodian provide a statement made under oath 
or affirmation before a qualified official indicating whether the student is, at that time, under 
suspension or expulsion from attendance at a private or public school in this or any other 
state or has been convicted of a felony in this or any other state.  (G.S. 115C-366) 

 
 

IV. ATTENDANCE 
 
A. Attendance must be taken each day of the school year.  In order to be considered in 

attendance, a student (except for hospital/homebound or staggered kindergarten) must be 
present in the school for the school day or at a place other than the school with the approval 
of the appropriate school official for the purpose of attending an authorized school activity.  
Such activities may include field trips, athletic contests, student conventions, musical 
festivals, or any similar approved activity. 

 
B. Except as noted in IV.A. above, a student must be present at least one-half of the school's 

instructional day in order to be recorded present for that day. 
 
C. Hospital/Homebound: 
 

If a student is confined at home or in a hospital, is unable to attend school, and is receiving 
homebound instruction from his/her home school/LEA, he/she is to be considered 
Hospital/Homebound.  Once school/LEA personnel have made contact (a face-to-face 
meeting) with the student to provide instruction, the student should be counted PRESENT.  
The student should continue to be counted present for the span of time during which 
regularly scheduled hospital/homebound instructional services are delivered.  (Supporting 
documentation should be maintained at the school.) 
Students who are identified as having a disability under the federal Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEA) or the corresponding Article 9 of Chapter 
115C of the NC General Statutes, and whose IEPs are developed according to the 
specifications of those laws may be considered Homebound based on the IEP. 
 

 The IEP of the above mentioned student(s) must be developed by a duly constituted 
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multidisciplinary team familiar with the student's unique, individual needs, using a variety of 
recent evaluative data and documentation.  The IEP can legitimize an instructional day (or 
week) for a student with disabilities that is shorter than the instructional day (or week) for 
other, non-disabled students.  In these cases the Homebound Attendance Policy can be 
applied.  

 
NOTE: PowerSchool will No-Show students if the user of the system goes to the Daily 

Headcount Adjustment screen to view student that have not attended. This screen is 
also to be used to adjust enrollment days of student that did not attend on their 
enrollment day. Students that are not in attendance are to be marked absent starting 
the first instructional day of the current school year. The only students that can be 
officially enrolled and absent on the enrollment day are student absent with the 
1H/1M codes. Reference the following documents for assistance: 

www.nc-sis.org/Documents/attendance/PS_QRD_Refresh_Premier_Attd_View_Data.pdf 
www.nc-sis.org/Documents/attendance/PS_QRD_Enrollment_Attendance_Audit_v2.5.pdf  

 
D. Lawful Absences: 
 

The superintendent, principal, or teacher who is in charge of a school has the right to excuse 
a student temporarily from attendance on account of sickness or other unavoidable cause.  
(Below are the valid/lawful excuses for temporary nonattendance of a student at school.) 

 
1. Illness or Injury: When the absence results from illness or injury which prevents the 

student from being physically able to attend school. 
 

2. Quarantine: When isolation of the student is ordered by the local health officer or by 
the State Board of Health. 

 
3. Death in the Immediate Family: When the absence results from the death of a 

member of the immediate family of the student.  For the purpose of this regulation, 
the immediate family of a student includes, but is not necessarily limited to, 
grandparents, parents, brothers, and sisters. 

 
4. Medical or Dental Appointments: When the absence results from a medical or 

dental appointment of a student. 
 

5. Court or Administrative Proceedings: When the absence results from the 
attendance of a student at the proceedings of a court or an administrative tribunal if 
the student is a party to the action or under subpoena as a witness.  The Local Board 
of Education can be considered an administrative tribunal. 

 
6. Religious Observance: School principals are required to authorize a minimum of 

two excused absences each academic year for religious observances required by faith 
of a student or a student's parents.  The student shall be given the opportunity to make 
up any tests or other work missed due to this excused absence. (S.L. 2010-112) 

 
7. Educational Opportunity: When it is demonstrated that the purpose of the absence 

is to take advantage of a valid education opportunity, such as travel.  Approval for 
such an absence must be granted prior to the absence.  This would include, but is not 
limited to, a student serving as a legislative page or a governor's page. 

http://www.nc-sis.org/Documents/attendance/PS_QRD_Refresh_Premier_Attd_View_Data.pdf
http://www.nc-sis.org/Documents/attendance/PS_QRD_Enrollment_Attendance_Audit_v2.5.pdf
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8. Local School Board Policy: LEAs may excuse temporary or occasional absences for 

other reasons in accordance with local school board policies, provided that the 
student has been in attendance for at least one-half of a school day during the current 
school year. 

 
9. Absence related to Deployment Activities: - A student whose parent or legal 

guardian is an active duty member of the uniformed services and has been called to 
duty for, is on leave from, or immediately returned from deployment to a combat 
zone or combat support posting for the purpose of visiting said parent or legal 
guardian. (G.S. 115C-407.5Article V (E) ) 

 
10. Child Care: Absences due to the illness or medical appointment during school hours 

of a child of whom the student is the custodial parent are to be coded excused 
(lawful).  (G.S.115C-375.5) 

 
NOTE: PowerSchool Codes are listed in Appendix C. 
NOTE: Suspension is not included in this list of Lawful (excused) absences but the “3” 

code for suspension is to be coded/mapped as an excused absence in the school’s 
student information tracking system which is currently PowerSchool. 

  
E. Medically Fragile: 
 

Students who are medically fragile are frequently absent from school, and their absences are 
directly related to their severe or life threatening physical condition. 

 
A medically fragile student is identified as follows: 

 
A student who qualifies for special education in one of the existing categories of 
disability and for whom a licensed medical doctor has provided documentation that 
an associated or accompanying chronic illness is so severe as to affect the student's 
school attendance. A medically fragile student is one whose illness frequently places 
him/her in life threatening situations.  In addition, he/she may be technology-
dependent for life support systems, i.e., tracheotomy, gastrostomy, etc. 

 
Rare instances may exist in which a child does not qualify for special education as 
defined in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).  However, the 
child would unquestionably meet the definition of disabled under Section 504 of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and thus would be eligible for consideration as a 
medically fragile student. 

 
The absence of medically fragile students will be recorded as 1H Absences on the 
Principal's Monthly Report. 

 
NOTE: Medically fragile absences are not included by the Department of Public Instruction 

in the calculation of a school's attendance rate. 
 
F. Staggered Kindergarten: 
 

Staggered Kindergarten enrollment programs are limited to the beginning of the school year. 
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Kindergarten is the only grade for which a staggered enrollment program may be used.  In 
order to allow staggered enrollment programs for Kindergarten to operate without adversely 
affecting a school's ADM or attendance rate, the following procedure is to be used. 

 
1. Enroll all participating Kindergartners on Day 01. 

 
2. Students should be counted present on days assigned to be at home. 
 
Kindergarten students that did not participate in the Staggered Kindergarten Program or are 
presented for enrollment after the program's termination should have an enrollment date on 
the first day they are present in accordance with Chapter 2 Section III. 
 

G. Teacher-in-Treatment Program: 
 

Students who are participating in the Teacher-in-Treatment Program should remain in 
membership in their home school.  Their days of participation should be posted as absences 
using the reason Teacher-in-Treatment.  The absences will be recorded as a 1H on the 
Principal's Monthly report. 

 
Current Teacher-in-Treatment Program sites are: 
PORT        Greenville   (252) 317-0063/0064 
McLeod Group Home      Charlotte  (704) 332-9001 
ASAP Youth Focus (formerly Links)   Greensboro  (336) 317-2062 
PORT Aberdeen (formerly Bethesda)   Aberdeen  (910) 944-2189 
Swain Recovery Center Adolescent Prog.   Swannanoa  (828) 669-4161 
ReStart      Winston Salem (336) 721-7625 
 
Eckerd Youth Camps are not part of the Teacher-in-Treatment Program and should be 
considered as a non-public, appropriate educational program.  Students enrolled in Eckerd 
Youth Camp facilities are to be withdrawn from your school using the W1 Code – 
Transferred to another school or appropriate educational program. 

 
H. Unlawful Absences: 
 

For students who are entitled to attend public school and who have enrolled in a public 
school, unlawful absence is defined as: 

 
1. A student's willful absence from school with or without the knowledge of the parent; 

or 
 

2. A student's absence from school for any reason other than those listed in Chapter 2, 
Section IV.D., under "Lawful Absences." 

 

3.  When students are not permitted to attend school because they lack proper 
immunization. Code 2B in PowerSchool is suggested for immunization absence 
tracking. 

 
(G. S. 130A-155 - Description: The 2009-10 School Attendance and Student Account Manual policy for 
students who do not have the proper immunizations states that their absences, when not allowed to attend 
school for lack of immunizations are to be coded as suspensions. In discussions with the North Carolina 
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Attorney General's Office, we have determined that a policy change is required to code the absence, due to 
a student's lack of immunizations as an unlawful absence instead of suspensions beginning July 1, 2010.) 

 
NOTE: Unlawful absences must be recorded for proper calculation of average daily 

membership (ADM).  Unlawful absences must also be recorded to meet the 
requirements of the Compulsory Attendance Law. 

 
I. Make Up Days for At-Risk Students: 
 
 Identified At-Risk students who miss days or classes may be allowed to make them up 

during non-school hours. Time must be made up on an hour-for-hour/day-for-day basis with 
participation limited to those students who fit an LEA's criteria for identification as an At-
Risk student.  Manual records must be kept to identify makeup time for At-Risk students. 
This information is to be kept in the student folder to use in addition to the student's official 
attendance record from the student information system. 

 
J. Suspensions and Expulsions: 
 

1.  Short-Term Suspension  (G.S. 115C-390.5) 
(a) The principal shall have authority to impose short-term suspension on a student who 

willfully engages in conduct that violates a provision of the Code of Student Conduct 
authorizing short-term suspension. 

(b) If a student's short-term suspensions accumulate to more than 10 days in a semester, 
to the extent the principal has not already done so, he or she shall invoke the 
mechanisms provided for in the applicable safe schools plan adopted pursuant to G.S. 
115C-105.47(b)(5) and (b)(6). 

(c) A student subject to short-term suspension shall be provided the following: 
(1) The opportunity to take textbooks home for the duration of the suspension. 
(2) Upon request, the right to receive all missed assignments and, to the extent 

practicable, the materials distributed to students in connection with the 
assignment. 

(3) The opportunity to take any quarterly, semester, or grading period 
examinations missed during the suspension period. 

 
 
 2.  Short-Term Suspension procedures (G.S. 115C-390.5) 

(a) Except as authorized in this section, no short-term suspension shall be imposed upon 
a student without first providing the student an opportunity for an informal hearing 
with the principal. The notice to the student of the charges may be oral or written, and 
the hearing may be held immediately after the notice is given. The student has the 
right to be present, to be informed of the charges and the basis for the accusations, 
and to make statements in defense or mitigation of the charges. 

(b) The principal may impose a short-term suspension without providing the student an 
opportunity for a hearing if the presence of the student creates a direct and immediate 
threat to the safety of other students or staff, or substantially disrupts or interferes 
with the education of other students or the maintenance of discipline at the school. In 
such cases, the notice of the charges and informal hearing described in subsection (a) 
of this section shall occur as soon as practicable. 

(c) The principal shall provide notice to the student's parent of any short-term 
suspension, including the reason for the suspension and a description of the alleged 
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student conduct upon which the suspension is based. The notice shall be given by the 
end of the workday during which the suspension is imposed when reasonably 
possible, but in no event more than two days after the suspension is imposed. The 
notice shall be given by certified mail, telephone, facsimile, e-mail, or any other 
method reasonably designed to achieve actual notice. 

(d) If English is the second language of the parent, the notice shall be provided in the 
parent's primary language, when the appropriate foreign language resources are 
readily available, and in English, and both versions shall be in plain language and 
shall be easily understandable. 

(e) A student is not entitled to appeal the principal's decision to impose a short-term 
suspension to the superintendent or local board of education. Further, such a decision 
is not subject to judicial review. Notwithstanding this subsection, the local board of 
education, in its discretion, may provide students an opportunity for a review or 
appeal of a short-term suspension to the superintendent or local board of education. 

 
3.  Long-Term Suspension (G.S. 115C-390.7) 

(a) A principal may recommend to the superintendent the long-term suspension of any 
student who willfully engages in conduct that violates a provision of the Code of 
Student Conduct that authorizes long-term suspension. Only the superintendent has 
the authority to long-term suspend a student. 

(b) Before the superintendent's imposition of a long-term suspension, the student must be 
provided an opportunity for a hearing consistent with G.S. 115C-390.8. 

(c) If the student recommended for long-term suspension declines the opportunity for a 
hearing, the superintendent shall review the circumstances of the recommended 
long-term suspension. Following such review, the superintendent (i) may impose the 
suspension if it is consistent with board policies and appropriate under the 
circumstances, (ii) may impose another appropriate penalty authorized by board 
policy, or (iii) may decline to impose any penalty. 

(d) If a teacher is assaulted or injured by a student and as a result the student is long-term 
suspended or reassigned to alternative education services, the student shall not be 
returned to that teacher's classroom unless the teacher consents. 

(e) Disciplinary reassignment of a student to a full-time educational program that meets 
the academic requirements of the standard course of study established by the State 
Board of Education as provided in G.S. 115C-12 and provides the student with the 
opportunity to make timely progress towards graduation and grade promotion is not a 
long-term suspension requiring the due process procedures described in G.S. 
115C-390.8. 

 
4.  Long-Term Suspension Procedures (G.S. 115C-390.8) 

(a) When a student is recommended by the principal for long-term suspension, the 
principal shall give written notice to the student's parent. The notice shall be provided 
to the student's parent by the end of the workday during which the suspension was 
recommended when reasonably possible or as soon thereafter as practicable. The 
written notice shall provide at least the following information: 
(1) A description of the incident and the student's conduct that led to the 

long-term suspension recommendation. 
(2) A reference to the provisions of the Code of Student Conduct that the student 

is alleged to have violated. 
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(3) The specific process by which the parent may request a hearing to contest the 
decision, including the number of days within which the hearing must be 
requested. 

(4) The process by which a hearing will be held, including, at a minimum, the 
procedures described in subsection (e) of this section. 

(5) Notice that the parent is permitted to retain an attorney to represent the 
student in the hearing process. 

(6) The extent to which the local board policy permits the parent to have an 
advocate, instead of an attorney, accompany the student to assist in the 
presentation of his or her appeal. 

(7) Notice that the parent has the right to review and obtain copies of the 
student's educational records before the hearing. 

(8) A reference to the local board policy on the expungement of discipline 
records as required by G.S. 115C-402. 

(b) Written notice may be provided by certified mail, fax, e-mail, or any other written 
method reasonably designed to achieve actual notice of the recommendation for long-
term suspension. When school personnel are aware that English is not the primary 
language of the parent or guardian, the notice shall be written in both English and in 
the primary language of the parent or guardian when the appropriate foreign language 
resources are readily available. All notices described in this section shall be written in 
plain English, and shall include the following information translated into the 
dominant non-English language used by residents within the local school 
administrative unit: 
(1) The nature of the document, i.e., that it is a long-term suspension notice. 
(2) The process by which the parent may request a hearing to contest the long-

term suspension. 
(3) The identity and phone number of a school employee that the parent may call 

to obtain assistance in understanding the English language information 
included in the document. 

(c) No long-term suspension shall be imposed on a student until an opportunity for a 
formal hearing is provided to the student. If a hearing is timely requested, it shall be 
held and a decision issued before a long-term suspension is imposed, except as 
otherwise provided in this subsection. The student and parent shall be given 
reasonable notice of the time and place of the hearing. 
(1) If no hearing is timely requested, the superintendent shall follow the 

procedures described in G.S. 115C-390.7(c). 
(2) If the student or parent requests a postponement of the hearing, or if the 

hearing is requested beyond the time set for such request, the hearing shall be 
scheduled, but the student shall not have the right to return to school pending 
the hearing. 

(3) If neither the student nor parent appears for the scheduled hearing, after 
having been given reasonable notice of the time and place of the hearing, the 
parent and student are deemed to have waived the right to a hearing and the 
superintendent shall conduct the review required by G.S. 115C-390.7(c). 

(d) The formal hearing may be conducted by the local board of education, by the 
superintendent, or by a person or group of persons appointed by the local board or 
superintendent to serve as a hearing officer or hearing panel. Neither the board nor 
the superintendent shall appoint any individual to serve as a hearing officer or on a 
hearing panel who is under the direct supervision of the principal recommending 
suspension. If the hearing is conducted by an appointed hearing officer or hearing 
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panel, such officer or panel shall determine the relevant facts and credibility of 
witnesses based on the evidence presented at the hearing. Following the hearing, the 
superintendent or local board shall make a final decision regarding the suspension. 
The superintendent or board shall adopt the hearing officer's or panel's factual 
determinations unless they are not supported by substantial evidence in the record. 

(e) Long-term suspension hearings shall be conducted in accordance with policies 
adopted by the board of education. Such policies shall offer the student procedural 
due process including, but not limited to, the following: 
(1) The right to be represented at the hearing by counsel or, in the discretion of 

the local board, a non-attorney advocate. 
(2) The right to be present at the hearing, accompanied by his or her parents. 
(3) The right of the student, parent, and the student's representative to review 

before the hearing any audio or video recordings of the incident and, 
consistent with federal and State student records laws and regulations, the 
information supporting the suspension that may be presented as evidence at 
the hearing, including statements made by witnesses related to the charges 
consistent with subsection (h) of this section. 

(4) The right of the student, parent, or the student's representative to question 
witnesses appearing at the hearing. 

(5) The right to present evidence on his or her own behalf, which may include 
written statements or oral testimony, relating to the incident leading to the 
suspension, as well as any of the factors listed in G.S. 115C-390.2(g). 

(6) The right to have a record made of the hearing. 
(7) The right to make his or her own audio recording of the hearing. 
(8) The right to a written decision, based on substantial evidence presented at the 

hearing, either upholding, modifying, or rejecting the principal's 
recommendation of suspension and containing at least the following 
information: 

a. The basis for the decision, including a reference to any policy or rule 
that the student is determined to have violated. 

b. Notice of what information will be included in the student's official 
record pursuant to G.S. 115C-402. 

c. The student's right to appeal the decision and notice of the procedures 
for such appeal. 

(f) Following the issuance of the decision, the superintendent shall implement the 
decision by authorizing the student's return to school or by imposing the suspension 
reflected in the decision. 

(g) Unless the decision was made by the local board, the student may appeal the decision 
to the local board in accordance with G.S. 115C-45(c) and policies adopted by the 
board. Notwithstanding the provisions of G.S. 115C-45(c), a student's appeal to the 
board of a decision upholding a long-term suspension shall be heard and a final 
written decision issued in not more than 30 calendar days following the request for 
such appeal. 

(h) Nothing in this section shall compel school officials to release names or other 
information that could allow the student or his or her representative to identify 
witnesses when such identification could create a safety risk for the witness. 

(i) A decision of the local board to uphold the long-term suspension of a student is 
subject to judicial review in accordance with Article 4 of Chapter 150B of the 
General Statutes. The action must be brought within 30 days of the local board's 
decision. A person seeking judicial review shall file a petition in the superior court of 
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the county where the local board made its decision. Local rules notwithstanding, 
petitions for judicial review of a long-term suspension shall be set for hearing in the 
first succeeding term of superior court in the county following the filing of the 
certified copy of the official record. 

 
5.  365-Day Suspension for Gun Possession (G.S. 115C-390.10) 

(a) All local boards of education shall develop and implement written policies and 
procedures, as required by the federal Gun Free Schools Act, 20 U.SC. § 7151, 
requiring suspension for 365 calendar days of any student who is determined to have 
brought or been in possession of a firearm or destructive device on educational 
property, or to a school-sponsored event off of educational property. A principal shall 
recommend to the superintendent the 365-day suspension of any student believed to 
have violated board policies regarding weapons. The superintendent has the authority 
to suspend for 365 days a student who has been recommended for such suspension by 
the principal when such recommendation is consistent with board policies. 
Notwithstanding the foregoing, the superintendent may modify, in writing, the 
required 365-day suspension for an individual student on a case-by-case basis. The 
superintendent shall not impose a 365-day suspension if the superintendent 
determines that the student took or received the firearm or destructive device from 
another person at school or found the firearm or destructive device at school, 
provided that the student delivered or reported the firearm or destructive device as 
soon as practicable to a law enforcement officer or a school employee and had no 
intent to use such firearm or destructive device in a harmful or threatening way. 

(b) The principal must report all incidents of firearms or destructive devices on 
educational property or at a school-sponsored event as required by G.S. 115C-288(g) 
and State Board of Education policy. 

(c) Nothing in this provision shall apply to a firearm that was brought onto educational 
property for activities approved and authorized by the local board of education, 
provided that the local board of education has adopted appropriate safeguards to 
protect student safety. 

(d) At the time the student and parent receive notice that the student is suspended for 365 
days under this section, the superintendent shall provide notice to the student and the 
student's parent of the right to petition the local board of education for readmission 
pursuant to G.S. 115C-390.12. 

(e) The procedures described in G.S. 115C-390.8 apply to students facing a 365-day 
suspension pursuant to this section. 

(f) Students who are suspended for 365 days pursuant to this section shall be considered 
for alternative educational services consistent with the provisions of G.S. 
115C-390.9. 

 
6.  Expulsion (G.S. 115C-390.11) 

(a) Upon recommendation of the superintendent, a local board of education may expel 
any student 14 years of age or older whose continued presence in school constitutes a 
clear threat to the safety of other students or school staff. Prior to the expulsion of 
any student, the local board shall conduct a hearing to determine whether the 
student's continued presence in school constitutes a clear threat to the safety of other 
students or school staff. The student shall be given reasonable notice of the 
recommendation in accordance with G.S. 115C-390.8(a) and (b), as well as 
reasonable notice of the time and place of the scheduled hearing. 
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a. The procedures described in G.S. 115C-390.8(e)(1)-(8) apply to students 
facing expulsion pursuant to this section, except that the decision to expel a 
student by the local board of education shall be based on clear and convincing 
evidence that the student's continued presence in school constitutes a clear 
threat to the safety of other students and school staff. 

b. A local board of education may expel any student subject to G.S. 14-208.18 
in accordance with the procedures of this section. Prior to ordering the 
expulsion of a student, the local board of education shall consider whether 
there are alternative education services that may be offered to the student. As 
provided by G.S. 14-208.18(f), if the local board of education determines that 
the student shall be provided educational services on school property, the 
student shall be under the supervision of school personnel at all times. 

c. At the time a student is expelled under this section, the student shall be 
provided notice of the right to petition for readmission pursuant to G.S. 
115C-390.12. 

(b) During the expulsion, the student is not entitled to be present on any property of the 
local school administrative unit and is not considered a student of the local board of 
education. Nothing in this section shall prevent a local board of education from 
offering access to some type of alternative educational services that can be provided 
to the student in a manner that does not create safety risks to other students and 
school staff. 

 
7.  Notwithstanding the provisions of G.S. 115C-391, the policies and procedures for the 

discipline of students with disabilities shall be consistent with federal laws and 
regulations.  (G.S. 115C-391(g)) 

 
8.  A student must be recorded present in school when participating in any disciplinary 

techniques grouped under the term "in-school suspension." 
 

9.  When a student is expelled while under suspension, his/her withdrawal (W2) should be 
posted on the day the expulsion takes effect.  The absences incurred during the 
suspension remain on the student's record. 

 
10.  Whenever a student is assigned a long term suspension to include the remainder of the 

school year or a short term suspension is converted to a long term suspension to include 
the remainder of the school year, a W2 withdrawal code should be posted to that student's 
record on the date of assignment or conversion.  If there are Code 3 absences present they 
should remain. 

 
11.  Alternative Education Services (G.S. 115C-390.9) 

(a) Students who are long-term suspended shall be offered alternative education services 
unless the superintendent provides a significant or important reason for declining to 
offer such services. The following may be significant or important reasons, 
depending on the circumstances and the nature and setting of the alternative 
education services: 

1. The student exhibits violent behavior. 
2. The student poses a threat to staff or other students. 
3. The student substantially disrupts the learning process. 
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4. The student otherwise engaged in serious misconduct that makes the 
provision of alternative educational services not feasible. 

5. Educationally appropriate alternative education services are not available in 
the local school administrative unit due to limited resources. 

6. The student failed to comply with reasonable conditions for admittance into 
an alternative education program. 

(b) If the superintendent declines to provide alternative education services to the 
suspended student, the student may seek review of such decision by the local board 
of education as permitted by G.S. 115C-45(c)(2). If the student seeks such review, 
the superintendent shall provide to the student and the local board, in advance of the 
board's review, a written explanation for the denial of services together with any 
documents or other information supporting the decision. 

 
12.  Request for Readmission (G.S. 115C-390.12) 

(a) All students suspended for 365 days or expelled may, after 180 calendar days from 
the date of the beginning of the student's suspension or expulsion, request in writing 
readmission to the local school administrative unit. The local board of education shall 
develop and publish written policies and procedures for the readmission of all 
students who have been expelled or suspended for 365 days, which shall provide, at a 
minimum, the following process: 
(1) The process for 365-day suspended students. 

a. At the local board's discretion, either the superintendent or the local 
board itself shall consider and decide on petitions for readmission. If 
the decision maker is the superintendent, the superintendent shall 
offer the student an opportunity for an in-person meeting. If the 
decision maker is the local board of education, the board may offer 
the student an in-person meeting or may make a determination based 
on the records submitted by the student and the superintendent. 

b. The student shall be readmitted if the student demonstrates to the 
satisfaction of the board or superintendent that the student's presence 
in school no longer constitutes a threat to the safety of other students 
or staff. 

c. A superintendent's decision not to readmit the student may be 
appealed to the local board of education pursuant to G.S. 115C-45(c). 
The superintendent shall notify the parents of the right to appeal. 

d. There is no right to judicial review of the board's decision not to 
readmit a 365-day suspended student. 

e. A decision on readmission under this subsection shall be issued 
within 30 days of the petition. 

(2) The process for expelled students. 
a. The board of education shall consider all petitions for readmission of 

expelled students, together with the recommendation of the 
superintendent on the matter, and shall rule on the request for 
readmission. The board shall consider the petition based on the 
records submitted by the student and the response by the 
administration and shall allow the parties to be heard in the same 
manner as provided by G.S. 115C-45(c). 

b. The student shall be readmitted if the student demonstrates to the 
satisfaction of the board or superintendent that his or her presence in a 
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school no longer constitutes a clear threat to the safety of other 
students or staff. 

c. A decision by a board of education to deny readmission of an 
expelled student is not subject to judicial review. 

d. An expelled student may subsequently request readmission not more 
often than every six months. The local board of education is not 
required to consider subsequent readmission petitions filed sooner 
than six months after the previous petition was filed. 

e. A decision on readmission under this section shall be issued within 
30 days of the petition. 

(b) If a student is readmitted under this section, the board and the superintendent have 
the right to assign the student to any program within the school system and to place 
reasonable conditions on the readmission. 

(c) If a teacher was assaulted or injured by a student, and as a result the student was 
expelled, the student shall not be returned to that teacher's classroom following 
readmission unless the teacher consents. 

 
13.  Assignment of Student to a Particular School (G.S. 115C-366) 
(a5) Notwithstanding any other law, a local board may deny admission to or place reasonable 
conditions on the admission of a student who has been suspended from a school under G.S. 
115C-390.5 through G.S. 115C-390.10 or who has been suspended from a school for conduct 
that could have led to a suspension from a school within the local school administrative unit 
where the student is seeking admission until the period of suspension has expired. Also, a 
local board may deny admission to or place reasonable conditions on the admission of a 
student who has been expelled from a school under G.S 115C-390.11 or who has been 
expelled from a school for behavior that indicated the student's continued presence in school 
constituted a clear threat to the safety of other students or staff as found by clear and 
convincing evidence, or who has been convicted of a felony in this or any other state. If the 
local board denies admission to a student who has been expelled or convicted of a felony, the 
student may request the local board to reconsider that decision in accordance with G.S.  
115C-390.12. When a student who has been identified as eligible to receive special education 
and related services under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 U.S.C. § 1400, 
et seq., is denied admission under this subsection, the local board shall provide educational 
services to the student to the same extent it would if the student were enrolled in the local 
school administrative unit at the time of the suspension or expulsion, as required by G.S. 
115C-107.1(a)(3). 
(h) The following definitions apply in this section: 

(3) Educational decisions. – Decisions or actions recommended or required by the school 
concerning the student's academic course of study, extracurricular activities, and 
conduct. These decisions or actions include enrolling the student, receiving and 
responding to notices of discipline under G.S. 115C-390.5 through G.S. 
115C-390.12, attending conferences with school personnel, granting permission 
for school-related activities, granting permission for emergency medical care, 
receiving and taking appropriate action in connection with student records, and 
any other decisions or actions recommended or required by the school in 
connection to that student. 

 
The suspension and expulsion information from the North Carolina 2011 legislation session can be 
found at www.ncga.state.nc.us/enactedlegislation/sessionlaws/html/2011-2012/sl2011-282.html. 
 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/enactedlegislation/sessionlaws/html/2011-2012/sl2011-282.html


Page 24 of 76 

NOTE:   The absence of a student which results from the suspension or expulsion of that student for 
misconduct may not be used for a compulsory attendance violation action. Absences 
caused by out-of-school suspension are not a factor in the administration of the Ten Day 
Rule (below). 

 
K. Ten Day Rule: 

The State Board of Education Ten Day Rule states that when a student accumulates ten 
consecutive days of unlawful absences, he/she is to be withdrawn from funded membership 
as of the first day following his/her last day in attendance.  The PowerSchool software 
automatically handles the administration of the Ten Day Rule.  The software functions as 
follows: 
1. On the day following the 10th consecutive unlawful absence, the student in violation 

of the 10 Day Rule will no longer be counted in the calculation of ADM as of the 
first day of the consecutive absences.  However, he/she will continue to be enrolled in 
the school and attendance is to be taken with the appropriate reason code. If the 
student has 10 consecutive unexcused absences causing violation days and returns on 
the 11th day or after and this occurs in one school month, the 10 days will stay as 
violation days but the student will not show as a violation. If the student has 10 or 
more consecutive violation days occurring over a span of multiple months, the days 
will be reflected as violations depending on when the PMR data is processed as well 
as the student's violation status. 

2. If and when the student returns to school, he/she is simply to be counted present for 
the days in attendance.  Beginning on the first day the student returns and is counted 
present the student will once again be included in the calculation of the school's 
ADM. However, the consecutive violation days will continue to be excluded from 
ADM. 

3. If and when it is determined the student with consecutive violation days is not 
returning to the school and is to be withdrawn, the withdrawal is to be posted on the 
first day after the student's last day in attendance.  

4. Students under age 16 who are unlawfully absent for more than 10 consecutive 
absences are not to be withdrawn until their whereabouts are known or it is 
determined they have left the attendance area.  Once students who continue to reside 
in the school's attendance area have been located, they should continue to be coded 
unlawfully absent as long as the reasons for their absences are unlawful. 

5. If any student, regardless of age, is in violation of the Ten Day Rule on the last day of 
the school year, before submission of the Month 09 PMR, action must be taken to 
withdraw the student using the W2 Code on the first day after his/her last day in 
attendance.  

NOTE: In PowerSchool, if a student is to be withdrawn, absences on and after the 
withdrawal date must be manually removed. 

 
All eligible students, regardless of their Ten Day Rule status who are in membership at the 
school and are present on the day of the administration of the state required assessment, are 
required to participate in the testing.  The testing results for the student will not be included 
in school growth or Annual Measurable Objectives (AMOs) if the student does not meet the 
140 day accountability membership requirement.  Either the Regional Accountability 
Coordinator or Accountability Services should be contacted before June 30 of the testing year 
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to request adjustments. 
 
 

V.  RULES OF PROCEDURE IN LAW ENFORCEMENT 
 
The Compulsory Attendance Law (G.S. 115C-378) states every parent, guardian, or custodian in 
North Carolina having charge or control of a student between the ages of 7 and 16 years shall cause 
the student to attend school continuously for a period equal to the time which the public school to 
which the student is assigned is in session.  It prohibits any person from encouraging, enticing, or 
counseling the child to be unlawfully absent from school.  The parent, guardian, or custodian of the 
child is required to notify the school of the reason for each known absence of the child, in accordance 
with local school policy. 

 
NOTE: Parents who refuse to comply with the health regulations of a community, such as 

compulsory vaccination, thereby causing a student to be excluded from the school, or 
parents who permit a student to stay at home or to be employed in any way contrary 
to the Child Welfare Law (Chapter 110 of the General Statutes), are responsible for 
the nonattendance of the student. 

 
Each LEA must enforce the state laws and regulations which relate to compulsory attendance.  LEAs 
may adopt rules which allow teachers to consider a student's absences in the computation of the 
student's grades. (16 NCAC 6E.0103)  School personnel have additional legal responsibilities for 
student attendance.  They are listed below. 
 
A. Duties of the Teacher: 

The teacher is essential in the enforcement of the Compulsory Attendance Law.  It is his/her 
duty: 

1. To inform students and parents of the value and importance of regular school 
attendance through: 

a. Classroom activities, 

b. Programs and announcements at parent-teacher association and teachers' 
meetings, and 

c. The development of public sentiment in the community for regular school 
attendance; 

2. To ascertain the cause of nonattendance and thus determine when an absence is 
lawful or unlawful (G.S. 115C-379); (The practice of requiring written excuses is 
recommended as a means of obtaining information as to the cause of absences.  
However, when a teacher obtains knowledge through another means that the cause of 
an absence is lawful and a written excuse is not provided, such absences should be 
reported as lawful.) 

Note: In PowerSchool, the teacher is considered the lead teacher. 

3. To record absences and absence reason codes accurately to ensure implementation of 
the Ten Day Rule; (See Section IV.K. above.) 

4. To maintain accurate student accounting records; (Attendance records shall be kept 
for each day of the school year.) and 
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5. To maintain the same student records for extended school day programs as those in 
regular school, in addition to those required in Chapter 3 of this publication, which 
relate to extended day student accounting records.  (G.S. 115C-307[f][g]; G.S. 115C-
308) 

 
B. Duties of the Social Worker: 

1. The primary responsibility of the social worker is to ensure the regular attendance of 
all students.  The social worker shall, as prescribed by the law, investigate all 
violators of the Compulsory Attendance Law.  (G.S. 115C-381) 

2. The social worker must: 

a. Investigate all violators of the Compulsory Attendance Law reported to 
him/her by the principal; 

b. Work with the student and his/her family to analyze the causes of the 
absences and determine steps, including adjustments of the school program 
and obtaining supplemental services, to eliminate the problem; and 

c. Have authority to report and verify on oath, the necessary criminal warrants 
or other documents for the prosecution of violations of the Compulsory 
Attendance Law. 

 
C. Duties of the Principal: 

The principal, as executive officer of the school, has the following responsibilities for the 
enforcement of the Compulsory Attendance Law and the provisions of the North Carolina 
Administrative Code as approved by the State Board of Education: 

1. He/she must, insofar as it relates to his/her activities, utilize the means outlined above 
in Section V.A.1 under "Duties of the Teacher" to inform students, parents, and 
teachers as to their respective duties with regard to school attendance.  He/she must 
also perform his/her duties as specified above in Section V.B.1 under "Duties of the 
Social Worker." 

2. He/she must provide such prescribed forms for use by himself/herself and the 
teachers working under his/her supervision.  These forms should be secured from the 
local superintendent. 

3. The principal or the principal's designee must notify the parent, guardian, or 
custodian of his/her child's excessive absences after the child has accumulated three 
unlawful absences in a school year.  After not more than six unlawful absences, the 
principal or the principal's designee must notify the parent, guardian, or custodian by 
mail that he or she may be in violation of the Compulsory Attendance Law and may 
be prosecuted if the absences cannot be justified under the established attendance 
policies of the State and local boards of education. 

After 10 accumulated unexcused absences in a school year, the principal or the 
principal's designee shall review any report or investigation prepared under G.S. 
115C-381 and shall confer with the student and the student's parent, guardian, or 
custodian, if possible, to determine whether the parent, guardian, or custodian has 
received notification pursuant to this section and made a good faith effort to comply 
with the law. If the principal or the principal's designee determines that the parent, 
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guardian, or custodian has not made a good faith effort to comply with the law, the 
principal shall notify the district attorney and the director of social services of the 
county where the child resides. If the principal or the principal's designee determines 
that the parent, guardian, or custodian has made a good faith effort to comply with 
the law, the principal may file a complaint with the juvenile court counselor pursuant 
to Chapter 7B of the General Statutes that the child is habitually absent from school 
without a valid excuse. 

4. In the case of a student or parent being reported to the court for failure of the student 
to attend school, and the principal is called as a witness, it shall be the principal's 
duty to appear when so called at the time and place specified, and have with him/her 
the teacher's report of unlawful absence.  The teacher may also be called as a witness. 

5. He/she must ensure that students are withdrawn on the day following their last day in 
attendance. 

6. He/she must report, in writing, all cases of suspension or expulsion to the social 
worker and to the local superintendent. 

 
D. Duties of the Superintendent: 

The superintendent of the LEA is responsible for creating and encouraging public sentiment 
favorable to regular school attendance and to the enforcement of the Compulsory Attendance 
Law and the provisions of the North Carolina Administrative Code as approved by the State 
Board of Education. 

1. He/she must endeavor to obtain cooperation among all concerned - students, parents, 
teachers, principals, social workers, and court officials - in the administration of the 
Compulsory Attendance Law. 

2. Through teachers' meetings, parent-teacher association meetings, newspapers, 
periodical releases, and other media, he/she must keep the public informed about the 
value, importance, and necessity of regular school attendance.  He/she must advise 
principals and teachers as to their duties and responsibilities in respect to the 
enforcement of the law. 

3. He/she must arrange with the social worker for meetings with teachers and principals 
for discussions concerning school attendance and the enforcement of the Compulsory 
Attendance Law. 

4. He/she must provide such forms and materials as are necessary for the administration 
of the Compulsory Attendance Law and of the rules and regulations of the State 
Board of Education, and distribute these materials to the school principals.  (G.S. 
115C-276) 

5. He/she must maintain data on each student suspended for more than 10 days or 
expelled.  (G.S. 115C-276) 

 
E. Penalty for Law Violation: 
 

Any parent, guardian, or other person violating the provisions of the Compulsory Attendance 
Law is guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor.  (G.S. 115C-380) 
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VI.  ATTENDANCE POLICIES 
 
North Carolina G.S. 115C-84.2 has been rewritten by Session Law 2012-145 that says schools must 
have a minimum of 185 days or 1,025 hours of instruction.  Attendance policies related to minimum 
days of attendance for course credit or promotion are established or authorized by the local board of 
education in each LEA, provided no other attendance policy (relating to minimum days of 
attendance, etc.) has been established in State Board of Education policy or state law.  
 
 

VII. AVERAGE DAILY MEMBERSHIP 
 
A. Enrollment is an increasing number which should not decrease after it is reported.  Once 

enrolled, students will remain in membership until they have withdrawn.  Membership is 
obtained by subtracting withdrawals from enrollment. 

B. Average daily membership (ADM) for each school month is based on the sum of the number 
of days in membership for all non-violating students in individual LEAs, divided by the 
number of days in the school month.  Initial allotments are based on the higher of the prior 
year's actual first two months of ADM or the projected higher of first two months of ADM. 

C. Where classes are offered less than five days a week, all students shall be included in all 
enrollment figures for a 20 day month.  However, a student shall be counted in membership 
only those days on which classes are offered.  (Example:  Classes offered four days a week in 
a regular school month of 20 days, would have only 16 days of classes, thus each student 
would only be counted 16/20 of a month in ADM.) 

D. Students who are enrolled for only a fractional part of the school month by days will receive 
only a fractional part of the membership.  (Example:  A student enrolled three days a week 
would be shown in membership only 12 days per school month; the Principal's Monthly 
Report would show corresponding membership, sum of pupils in membership, etc.) 

E. In situations where learning labs are utilized, the same procedure as in Item VII.C. above, 
shall be followed.  (Example:  A student who attends learning lab two days per week for six 
hours would be counted in ADM based only on the two days per week.  The ADM would be 
8/20 of a month.) 

F. Students who participate part time in supervised work programs will be counted in 
membership only during that portion of their work schedule that they are under the 
supervision of LEA personnel and in an approved program of Workforce Development 
Education (formerly Vocational and Technical Education) in the North Carolina Department 
of Public Instruction. 

G. To be included in ADM, a student must have a class schedule that is at least one half of the 
school's instructional day.  Students who have a schedule less than one half of an 
instructional day must be assigned as visiting students and will not be included in ADM. 

NOTE: No-Show and Enrollment date adjustment - PowerSchool will No-Show students if 
the user of the system goes to the Daily Headcount Adjustment screen to view 
students that have not attended. This screen is also to be used to adjust the enrollment 
date of students that did not attend on their enrollment day. The Daily Headcount 
Adjustment screen will only report students for possible entry date changes or no-
show candidates if the students are marked absent starting the first instructional day 
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of the current school year. The only students that can be officially absent on their 
enrollment day are students with the 1H code. Reference the following documents for 
assistance:  

www.nc-sis.org/Documents/attendance/PS_QRD_Refresh_Premier_Attd_View_Data.pdf  
www.nc-sis.org/Documents/attendance/PS_QRD_Enrollment_Attendance_Audit_v2.5.pdf 
www.nc-sis.org/Documents/attendance/PS_Enrollment_Attendance_Audit_Process_v2.0.pdf  

 
 
 
 
 
 
NC Definition of Pre-Kindergarten  
 
Prekindergarten refers to a group or class that is part of a public school program or nonpublic 
program funded by state or federal sources to provide pre-kindergarten, and is taught in the year or 
years preceding kindergarten.  Include all groups or classes that are (a) supported with state or federal 
funds for pre-kindergarten or public education funds or fees charged by local education agency, (b) 
administered by a public school or local education agency or local nonpublic agency contracted to 
provide pre-kindergarten with state or federal funding and (c) offered to children who are below the 
kindergarten age requirement, or meet some other criterion that establishes the state or local 
definition of pre-kindergarten. 
 
Examples of pre-kindergarten include, but are not limited to, public school pre-kindergarten 
programs, Head Start programs that are administered by a local education agency, Head Start 
programs administered by nonpublic agencies, nonpublic community-based child care centers or 
agencies contracted to provide pre-kindergarten with state or federal funds, education services 
provided to students with disabilities who are below kindergarten age, or programs that are 
considered school district enterprise operations, that is, they are supported in part by fees for 
services. 
 
Pre-kindergarten children are not included in Average Daily Membership calculations.  Students 
Admitted and Registered in PowerSchool as MST1 in grade level PK are reported on the Principal's 
Monthly Report in a manner that excludes them for any calculations and totals. Students in grade 
levels P0, P1, P2 and P3 will also be MST1 and will not be included in Average Daily Membership. 
The totals for P0 – P3 will be grouped under the PK totals on the PMR. 
 
 
 

http://www.nc-sis.org/Documents/attendance/PS_QRD_Refresh_Premier_Attd_View_Data.pdf
http://www.nc-sis.org/Documents/attendance/PS_QRD_Enrollment_Attendance_Audit_v2.5.pdf
http://www.nc-sis.org/Documents/attendance/PS_Enrollment_Attendance_Audit_Process_v2.0.pdf
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VIII. AVERAGE DAILY MEMBERSHIP CALCULATION 
 
 

Average Daily Membership (ADM) is a calculation using data from the Principal's Monthly Report.  
The calculation uses the number of days in the school month and the number of Non-violation 
(NVIO) Membership Days.  The number of days in the month is found on the 5th line in the upper 
left area of the PMR.  Membership days are found in the column labeled Membership Days NVIO. 
 

NOTE:   All schools must have 20 days in months 1 and 2.  If general statute or 
State Board of Education policy allows a school to be funded using 
ADM from a month other than month 1 or 2, that month must also 
have only 20 days. The other days in the calendar are to be distributed 
evenly throughout the rest of the school year. 

  
The calculation is as follows: 
 
Membership Days NVIO divided by Number of Days in School Month rounded to the nearest whole 
number.  This is done for EACH GRADE LEVEL.  This produces the ADM by grade level.  Once 
the grade level ADM is calculated they are added together to determine the ADM for the school.  
Each school's ADM in the LEA is added together to determine the LEA's ADM. 
 
Using the PowerSchool PMR on the next page as an example the ADM is:  
 

Membership 
Days 

(NVIO)  

Days 
in 

Month    

Grade 
level 
ADM 

11116  / 20 = 555.8 rounded to 556 

8562 / 20 = 428.1 rounded to 428 

8134 / 20 = 406.7 rounded to 407 

7386 / 20 = 369.3 Rounded to 369 

     
School's 

ADM  1760 
 
To figure the LEA's ADM you would do the above calculation for each school and then add the 
Schools' ADM together. 
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Best 1 of 2 Average Daily Membership (ADM) 
 
In order to assist LEAs/Charters with their budgeting and planning process, the "Best 1 of 2 ADM" 
report is prepared by school for planning purposes.  This report shows the higher ADM of the first or 
second school month, for each grade level in each school, and sums the results by grade level across 
the LEA.  This method of calculating Best 1 of 2 is not the same as the method used for the State 
allotment formulas and therefore, should not be compared to those figures that will be provided with 
your state planning allotments.  This information is provided to help you create your LEA/Charter 
internal budget only. 
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IX. AVERAGE DAILY ATTENDANCE 
 
Average daily attendance (ADA) is based on the sum of the number of days in attendance for all 
students divided by the number of days in the school month.  No state allotments are based on ADA. 
 
 

X.  ADM CREDIT FOR PARTIAL OR COMPLETE CLOSING 
OF MILITARY, FEDERAL, OR PRIVATE SCHOOLS 

 
ADM credit may be granted to an LEA for students who have not been in projected ADM figures 
due to partial or complete closings of schools as follows: 
 
A. Requests for credit must include the following: 
 

1. The name of the closed school, grade span, and the date it closed; 
 

2. The specific grade levels discontinued in partially closed schools; 
 

3. A roster of the affected students, by name and grade level, that have actually enrolled 
in the LEA; and 

 
4. A signed certification by the local superintendent stating that the above enrollment 

has taken place. 
 
B. Adjustments may also be made for groups of students entering an LEA's ADM for the 

first time resulting from military or economic factors considered to be beyond normal 
expansion of the LEA.  Students in this category shall be certified to be enrolled by the 
superintendent, and shall be identified by name, grade level, and parent occupation. 

 
C. The number of students transferring into the LEA shall be added as follows: 
 

1. If a request for change in ADM due to a school(s) closing is received by the School 
Reporting Section prior to the issuance of the planning allotments (January of each 
year), the number of students shall be added to projected ADM and may affect the 
planning allotment depending on the relative sizes of projections and prior best one 
of the first two months ADM. 

 
2. If the request for change in ADM due to the transfer is received by the School 

Reporting Section after the issuance of the planning allotments and no later than June 
15, the number of students shall be added to the projected ADM and may affect the 
initial allotment depending on the relative sizes of projected ADM. 

 
3. If the request for change in ADM due to the transfer is received after the issuance of 

the Initial Allotment, an LEA may make a written request for an allotment adjustment 
from the School Reporting Section.  Such requests must include the information 
outlined in IX.A. and B. 
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4. Upon determination of the validity and accuracy of the above transfer(s), the School 
Reporting Section will certify and report the changes in ADM to the Statistical 
Research Section which will, in turn, recalculate projected ADM figures for the 
affected LEA and forward the revised data to the Budget and Allotment Section for 
possible allotment adjustments. 

 
5. Any ADM credit considered above will be granted within funds available. 
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CHAPTER 3: 
 

Student Accounting for Extended School Day Programs 
and Hospital Schools 
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STUDENT ACCOUNTING FOR EXTENDED SCHOOL DAY PROGRAMS 
AND HOSPITAL SCHOOLS 

 
 

I.  EXTENDED SCHOOL DAY PROGRAMS 
 
The following regulations shall be observed in the keeping of records for extended school day 
programs. 
 
A. Students attending extended school day programs during summer months shall not be 

included in statistics of the regular school year. 
 
B. Students who are attending the extended school day program and are enrolled in a regular 

school program shall be counted in average daily membership (ADM) only in the program 
where they spend the major portion of their time.  (Students may be counted only once.) 

 
C. Students shall be enrolled and included in student statistics reports in the school where they 

are in attendance.  If the extended school day program is a separate school, a school number 
shall be assigned by the State Department of Public Instruction, Information Analysis and 
Reporting Section, and separate reports shall be filed monthly. 

 
D. Students in extended school day programs shall be included on the appropriate Principal's 

Monthly Report for extended school day programs at the school where classes are conducted, 
unless these students are also in membership in the regular school program.  The ADM of 
these students is to be included in the calculation of the teacher allotment for LEAs. 

 
1. Students who attend learning labs on an unscheduled format are not to be counted in 

membership on days they are not scheduled to regular class. 
 

2. Students scheduled to learning labs on days that they are not scheduled to class are to 
be counted in membership on those days. 

 
E. ADM for extended school day programs should be calculated as provided in Chapter 2, Part 

VII. 
 
 

II. HOSPITAL SCHOOLS 
 
Hospital schools throughout the state (examples: UNC Hospitals at Chapel Hill and Duke) have 
unique situations which require individual methods of student accounting.  The use of alternative 
student accounting methods must be approved by the School Financial Reporting Section. 
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CHAPTER 4: 

Class Size  
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CLASS SIZE  

 
The School Reporting Section is responsible for monitoring local board of education compliance 
with class size maximums in accordance with G.S. 115C-301 and Session Law 2015-241 (House Bill 
97). 
 
 

I.  ADMINISTRATION OF CLASS SIZE 
 
• Local boards of education must maintain a LEA- wide class size average no higher than the 

class size ratio of teachers to students of the following: 
Kindergarten 1 to 21 
Grade 1 1 to 21 
Grade 2 1 to 21 
Grade 3 1 to 21 

 
In grades 4-12, local school administrative units shall have the maximum flexibility to use allotted 
teacher positions to maximize student achievement. 
 

NOTE: Charter schools are exempt from class size requirements. 
 
B. During the first two months of school, no class size maximum requirements exist as long as 

the LEA-wide class size average maximums for each grade or grade span are not exceeded. 
 

At the end of the second school month and for the remainder of the school year, the size of an 
individual class may exceed the LEA-wide ratio by three students so long as the LEA-wide 
average class size maximums are not exceeded.  Therefore, individual class size ratio 
maximums are: 

Kindergarten 1 to 24 
Grade 1 1 to 24 
Grade 2 1 to 24 
Grade 3 1 to 24 

 
When a class contains a combination of grades for more than one grade span, the maximum 
class size will be determined by the grade span classification which constitutes the majority 
in the class. 

 
When teachers are assigned students in a team-teaching setting, each teacher in the team is 
considered to be responsible for an equal number of students in the class, regardless of how 
frequently the teacher actually teaches. 
 

C. If individual class size exceeds 24 in grades K, 1, 2, or 3 at the end of the second school 
month and for the remainder of the school year, the local board has the responsibility to 
follow the steps set forth in G.S. 115C-301(g) and G.S.115C-47(10). 
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D. Study halls and homerooms are not counted when calculating average LEA-wide class size 
average.  (All other classes are to be included in the calculation of LEA-wide class size 
averages.) 

 
E. Class size maximums apply to all K-3 teachers, including those which are state, federally, 

and locally funded. 
 
 

II.  INITIAL REPORTING OF CLASS SIZE 
 
Under the provisions of G.S. 115C-301(f) and G.S. 115C-47(10): 
 
A. Class size exceptions will be identified and reported via the School Activity Report (SAR).  

A school's SAR will be reported one week following the reporting of the school's Principal's 
Monthly Report for the second school month. 

 
B. All class size overages not allowed by a waiver must be corrected by the LEA.  Corrections 

may be made by reorganization of classes, by correcting inaccurate data at the school level, 
or by requesting a class size waiver from the State Board of Education (see III. below).  
Corrected class size data must be reported.  Class size overages in schools without waivers 
will be called to the attention of the State Board of Education. 

NOTE: Starting 2015/16 there is an Average Class Size report produced with the SAR report run. 
The data in the Class Size report will be the official data reported in the School Report Card for that 
reporting year. 
 

III.  WAIVERS 
DUE TO EXCESS CLASS SIZE 

 
Under the provisions of G.S. 115C-301(g), 115C-47(10): 
 
A. The Department of Public Instruction is authorized to review and respond to, on the State 

Board's behalf, an LEA's request for a waiver of class size requirements for individual 
classes. 

 
B. Local boards of education are responsible for assuring the class size requirements set forth in 

G.S. 115C-301 are met.  Any teacher who believes the requirements of G.S. 115C-301 have 
not been met shall make a report to the principal and superintendent.  The superintendent 
shall immediately determine whether the requirements have in fact not been met.  If the 
superintendent determines the requirements have not been met, he or she shall make a report 
to the next local board of education meeting.  The local board of education shall take action 
to meet the requirements of the statute. 

 
If the local board cannot organizationally correct the exception and if any of the conditions 
set out below are met, it shall immediately apply to the State Board of Education for a waiver 
from the standards set above.  The Individual Class Size Waiver form can be located on the 
Financial and Business Services' web page www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/forms/ . 
 

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/forms/
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Within 45 days of receipt of the request, the State Board, within funds available, shall not 
grant waivers for excess class size in kindergarten through third grade, except under the 
following circumstances: 
 

a) Emergencies, or acts of God that impact the availability of classroom space or 
facilities;  

b) An unanticipated increase in student population of an individual school in excess of 
two percent (2%) of the average daily membership of that school; 

c) Organizational problems in geographically isolated local school administrative units 
in which the average daily membership is less than one and one-half per square mile; 

d) Classes organized for a solitary curricular area; or 
e) A charter school closure. 

 
C.  The SBE will review all waiver applications and apply the following rules for approval: 
 

1. If no individual class size waiver has been request for that specific school and grade 
during the previous school year, and 

2. The waiver is for no more than two students above the established class size 
maximums, and 

3. If the local board cannot organizationally correct the exception. 
 

D.  Penalty for Noncompliance. – If the State Board of Education determines that a local 
superintendent has willfully failed to comply with the requirements of this section, no State funds 
shall be allocated to pay the superintendent's salary for the period of time the superintendent is in 
noncompliance. 

 
E. Requests for individual class size exception waivers require the completion of a form 

supplied by the School Reporting Section in the Division of School Business.  The current 
form can be found at: www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/forms/ . 

 
1. Requests for individual class size waivers for classes out of compliance at the end of 

the 2nd school month must be received by the Department of Public Instruction prior 
to November 30 of the current school year. 

2. Requests for individual class size waivers for classes out of compliance after the end 
of the 2nd school month must be submitted as they occur.  

3. Waivers, when granted for a specific incidence, may remain in effect for the 
remainder of the current school year. 

 
F. Upon notification from the State Board that the reported exception does not qualify for a waiver, 

the local board, within 30 days of receipt of the State Board notification, shall take action 
necessary to correct the exception.  A report of the action taken to alleviate the exception shall be 
sent to the School Reporting Section within 30 days of receipt of State Board notification that the 
exception did not qualify for a waiver. 

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/forms/
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CHAPTER 5: 
 

School Calendar 
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Opening & Closing Dates  

G. S. 115C-84.2 states that local boards of education shall determine the dates of opening and 
closing the public schools. Except for year-round schools, the opening date for students shall be no 
earlier than the Monday closest to August 26, and the closing date for students shall be no later than 
the Friday closest to June 11. On a showing of good cause, the State Board of Education may waive 
the requirement that the opening date for students be no earlier than the Monday closest to August 26 
and may allow the local board of education to set an opening date no earlier than the Monday closest 
to August 19, to the extent that school calendars are able to provide sufficient days to accommodate 
anticipated makeup days due to school closings. A local board may revise the scheduled closing date 
if necessary in order to comply with the minimum requirements for instructional days or instructional 
time.  The opening and closing dates apply to instructional days only as teacher workdays may be 
scheduled outside of these dates.  G. S. 115C-84.2 requires the school calendar must...  

1. Have a minimum of 185 days or 1,025 instructional hours.  
2. Cover at least nine calendar months.  
3. Have a minimum of 10 annual vacation leave days.  
4. The remaining days scheduled should be for use as teacher workdays, additional instructional 

days or other lawful purposes. 
5. Have the same or an equivalent number of legal holidays occurring within the school 

calendar as those designated by State Personnel Commission for State employees.  
6. Not have Sunday as an instructional or staff work day.  
7. Not have Veterans Day as an instructional or staff work day. 
8. Local Boards shall designate two (2) workdays on which teachers may take accumulated 

vacation leave. Local Boards may designate the remaining workdays as days teachers may 
take accumulated vacation leave. 

 

In addition, teachers are paid for a term of 10 months (G.S.115C-302.1) and therefore, the calendar 
should not schedule instructional days or workdays on a Saturday.  A Saturday may be used as a 
makeup day for an inclement weather day when the school has been closed. 
 

Exemptions from the opening and closing dates: 
• Year-round schools (must be designated as such in the Educational Directory and 

Demographical Information Exchange (EDDIE) 
• Charter schools  
• Schools designated as having a modified calendar for the 2003-04 school year or planned to 

have a modified calendar in 2003-04.  This includes those schools that have been identified 
by the SBE as High Priority or Continually Low Performing. 

 NOTE: Clarification of Instructional Hours - Though definitely a part of school life, some 
activities, such as the following, are not considered to be part of instructional time:  changing 
classes, homeroom, lunch, pep rallies, and school dances. Local boards of education will decide 
which other activities are instructional, and therefore considered part of the instructional time. 
 

Cooperative Innovative High Schools-GS 115C-238.53 
Calendar law 115C-84.2 no longer applies to these schools.  CIH are required to have at 
least 185 days or 1,025 hours of instruction covering at least nine calendar months. 
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Charter Schools –GS 115C-218.85 

Required to have 185 days or 1,025 hours. 
 

Regional Schools – GS 115C-238.66 
Required to have 185 days or 1,025 hours. 

 
 
School Closings Due to Inclement Weather and Other Emergencies  
 
Requirements and Procedures 

Requirements of G.S. 115C-84.2 and State Board of Education policy relative to school closings 
due to inclement weather and emergency conditions are summarized below: 

 
A. School Calendar: Each local board of education shall adopt a school calendar to include a 

minimum of 185 days or 1,025 hours of instruction covering at least nine calendar months.  
The school calendar shall include a plan for making up days and instructional hours missed 
when schools are not opened due to inclement weather. 

 
If school is closed early due to inclement weather, the State Board of Education shall allow 
the day and the scheduled amount of instructional hours to count toward the required 
minimum number of days and instructional hours.  If school buses are en route to schools 
when school is canceled for the day, then the day and instructional hours scheduled for that 
day will count toward the required minimum. 

 
B. Make-Up Days: The school calendar shall include a plan for making up days and 

instructional hours missed when schools are not open due to inclement weather. 
 

G.S. 115C-84.2 places certain limitations on the scheduling of make-up days.  All days in the 
school calendar must fall within the fiscal year.  School shall not be held on Sundays.  
Veteran's Day shall be a holiday for all public school personnel and for all students enrolled 
in the public schools. 

 
A local board may revise the scheduled closing date of school if necessary in order to comply 
with the minimum requirements for instructional days or instructional time within the limits 
of G.S.115C-84.2. 

 
 
C. Reporting Missed Days: Local boards of education shall report to the State Board all days 

for which schools are closed for students during the school year.  This report shall include the 
total number of days and reasons missed, by date, and the dates of make-up days.  The 
Department of Public Instruction shall collect this information at the end of each school year. 

 
D. Individual School Closings: Beginning with the 1998-99 school year, the State Board of 

Education will no longer approve the suspension of days from the required minimum 185-
day or 1,025 hour school term for individual school closings.  G.S. 115C-84.2 does not 
authorize the State Board to suspend days or hours for individual school closings. 
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E. Superintendent Authorized to Close Schools: The Superintendent of a local education 
agency, in the event of an emergency, act of God, or any other conditions requiring the 
termination of classes before the end of a school day, may suspend the operation of any 
school for that particular day; and the day and the scheduled amount of instructional hours 
shall count toward the required minimum. 

 
• Waiver Requests: Waivers may be requested for the opening and closing dates or in 

accordance with Session Law 2012-145.  An LEA cannot request a waiver for any other 
provision in the G.S. 84.2, e.g. pay schedules, days in the month for salary purposes or the 
number of school calendar days.  LEA Based Calendar Waiver request forms must be 
submitted to DPI by August 15 of the preceding school year.  Waivers may be requested for 
all schools in the LEA if the LEA meets the "Missed Days" eligibility using the LEA Based 
Calendar Waiver Request for Weather Related Causes form.  Calendar Waiver Request 
forms can be located on the Financial and Business Services' Web Page at 
www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/forms/.   

 
Waiver from open dates 

The State Board may waive the open dates for showing of good cause and allow the 
LEA to set an opening date no earlier than the Monday closest to August 19.  
 

Definition of "good cause" 
"Good cause" is limited to severe weather conditions and is defined as all schools being 
closed for eight or more days during any four of the last ten years.  Partial day closures 
are not included. 

 
• There is no longer a waiver for the 185 day calendar. 

 
Missed Days  

The State Board of Education may waive the opening date requirement for any LEA within a county 
where all schools have been closed for a full day, eight or more days per year during any four of the 
last ten years because of severe weather conditions, energy shortages, power failures or other 
emergency situations.  The list of LEAs eligible to submit a request can be found at 
www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/calendar/ . 
 

Process  
• The Division of School Business will publish the LEA ten year history of missed days and 

identify those LEAs which are eligible to request a LEA-wide waiver 
• The LEA will choose one of two ten year periods to determine their eligibility for a waiver. 

The first ten year period option includes the last ten years (excluding the current year).  The 
second ten year period option includes the last ten years (including the current year). 

• The LEA that chooses option one must submit a waiver request by August 15 for State Board 
of Education approval or denial during their calendar development for the following school 
year.   

• The LEA that chooses option two must submit a waiver by April 1 of the current year for 
State Board of Education approval or denial for the following school year. 
 

If approved, the waiver will be applicable to all schools within the LEA. 

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/forms/
http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/calendar/
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CHAPTER 6: 
 

Student Accounting Codes 
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STUDENT ACCOUNTING CODES 
 

NOTE: In PowerSchool we have the ability to have granular coding. Codes created by an 
LEA must be approved by DPI and mapped correctly in PowerSchool for accurate 
state report. When selecting the appropriate code, consider policy for the correct 
selection. The granular coding does not override the importance of selecting the 
appropriate code for the Principal's Monthly Report. If an LEA creates a code that 
is not approved by DPI and/or mapped accurately, the school’s PMR data will be 
incorrect, which could result in reduced funding. 

 
 

I.  ENROLLMENT CODES 
 
When a student enters school, designate such entrance by the appropriate code.  Withdrawals 
occurring during the summer months are posted as part of the record of the immediately preceding 
school year. 
 
NOTE: A student is not to be indicated as enrolled with an enrollment date until the student 

has actually started attending in the current school year. If a student is absent on the 
day of enrollment in the current school year or has not attended ½ of the instructional 
day, the enrollment date must be changed to the actual day the student is in 
attendance. The only exception to this is a 1H student. 

 
NOTE: The Daily Headcount Adjustment function in PowerSchool will show students that 

need enrollment data adjustments. The school staff must go to this screen to adjust 
enrollment issues such as updating enrollment dates to the correct day and also no-
show students as needed. Students must be marked absent on non-attended school 
days to allow the headcount adjustment report to work properly in PowerSchool. 

 
NOTE: The N1 enrollment code is only to be used for program school entries. 
 

Codes 
 

E1 - Initial Entry - No Previous Public School Enrollment 
 

Student's first enrollment in a public school this school year.  The student has not 
been enrolled in a public school in North Carolina or another state this school year, 
although the student may have been enrolled in a non-public school this school year 
either in North Carolina or another state.  The E1 code should be used for all students 
from a country other than the United States who enroll in a North Carolina public 
school for the first time. 
 

 
E2 - Initial Entry - Previous Public School Enrollment Outside State 

 
Student's first enrollment in a public school in North Carolina this school year.  The 
student was enrolled previously in a public school in another state this school year. 

 
R1 - Re-entry - Previous Internal W1 
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Student's subsequent enrollment in this school this school year.  The student is 
withdrawn as an internal transfer and re-entered into another 
grade/homeroom/attendance category in the same school and under the same 
principal.  The R1 date and W1 date must be the same. 
 

NOTE: PowerSchool does not automatically do the W1/R1 in the background of the system.  
The school staff will have to withdraw the student as a W1 and re-enter the student as 
a R1 on the same day of the withdrawal for any grade level changes and attendance 
status changes. Make sure this W1/R1 process is done using the same day to not lose 
a day of membership for the student. 

 
R2 - Transfer Entry - Previous North Carolina Public School Enrollment in Same 

LEA 
  

Student's first enrollment in this school this school year.  Student transferred during 
this school year from a public school in the same LEA.  For the purpose of assigning 
the R2 code, a charter school should be viewed as part of the LEA in which it is 
located.  Students transferring from one Charter School to another during the school 
year should be coded R2 if both Charters are within the same LEA. 

 
R3 - Transfer Entry - Previous North Carolina Public School Enrollment in Another 

LEA 
 

Student's first enrollment in this school this school year.  Student transferred during 
this school year from a public school in another North Carolina LEA. 

 
R5- Re-entry - Previous External W1 

 
Student's subsequent enrollment in this school this school year.  The student 
withdrew from this school as an external W1 and is re-entered into the same 
homeroom as the student was located before the withdrawal. 

 
R6- Re-entry - Previous W2 

 
Student's subsequent enrollment in this school, this school year.  The student 
withdrew from this school as a W2 and is re-entered into the same homeroom as the 
student was located before the withdrawal. 

 
 

When a student withdraws from a North Carolina public school, enrolls in a public school in 
another state or in a non-public school, and then returns to a North Carolina public school, 
he/she is to be coded as if the transfer was from the original North Carolina public school. 
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II. ATTENDANCE CATEGORY CODES 
 
The following are valid Attendance Category codes that are to be used as defined by the North 
Carolina Department of Public Instruction: 
 
MST1 Member - Standard Day Program - this code should be applied to students that are to be 

included in Average Daily Membership funding and are not enrolled in an Extended Day 
Program.  These students are included in Principal's Monthly Report Data.  In grade levels KI 
- 13.  

 
 NOTE:  PK and P0 – P3 students will be coded as MST1 for reporting needs only, not 

ADM. 
 
VST1 Visitor - Standard Day Program - this code should be applied to students that are NOT to be 

included in Average Daily Membership funding and are not enrolled in an Extended Day 
Program.    

 
NOTE:  Foreign Exchange students would be coded as VST1. 

 
MED1 Member - Extended Day Program - this code should be used for any high school student; 

grade level 9 - 12 (only) who is enrolled in a North Carolina Public School and is also 
registered in an extended day program.  This program extends beyond the regular school day. 
These students are included in the Average Daily Membership (ADM) and reported in Grade 
Level Extended Day 9 - 12 on the PMR. 

 
VED1 Visitor - Extended Day Program - this code should be used for any high school student; 

grade level 9 - 12 (only) who is enrolled in a North Carolina Public School as a visiting 
student and is also registered in an extended day program. This program extends beyond the 
regular school day.  These students are not included in the Average Daily Membership 
(ADM). 

 
VST2 Visitor – Temporary Status - this code should only be used for students that have not been 

withdrawn from their previous N.C. Public school but are attending a new school. The 
student must be updated with the appropriate code before the PMR is approved and once the 
student is withdrawn from the previous school. This code status will generate a fatal error on 
the PMR. 

 
 
The assignment of Attendance Categories should not be based on whether or not a student is to be 
administered a required state assessment.  The code is not used to determine if a student is or is not 
to be tested.  If you have concerns, please contact either an accountability consultant or a Regional 
Accountability Coordinator. 
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Additional Clarification of Membership and Visitor Status 
 
Member students are included in ADM calculations for school funding with the exception of PK 
grade level students. Visitor students are not included in ADM calculations and various UERS 
data collections which include but are not limited to PMR, GRS and RPG.  Selecting the status 
of member or visitor for a student should accurately reflect the student's status for all the local 
school's reporting needs to the state.  
 
NOTE: Users of the student information system for reporting student data are reminded that 
inaccurate reporting of student data is considered as falsifying student information (115C-307(g), 
115C-288(b), 115C-276(p) ). 
 
Students that should be considered for MST1 (Member – Standard Day Program) or 
MED1 (Member – Extended Day Program) status 
 

PK and below grade levels 
Students in grade levels of P0-P3 will be grouped under the PK totals in the PMR. The 
PK and below grade level students are populated with the status of MST1 but due to the 
grade level, are not included in ADM or PMR totals. 

 
NOTE: In PowerSchool users will see grade levels that may look different from the reported 
grade level. These grade are 0 = KI, -1 = PK4, -2 = PK3, -3 = PK2.  The number with the PK 
indicates in this note the age of the student. 
 

1-13 grade levels 
Students in grades KI - 13 are populated as in membership (regular day or extended) is 
they fall within the following guidelines: 

• A student is not a foreign exchange student 
• A student enrolled in a Standard Day Program (MST1) 
• A student enrolled in an Extended Day Program (MED1) 
• A membership student is to be scheduled in classes at least ½ of the instruction 

school day 
• A student that is enrolled in the public school and identified as medically fragile 
• A student that is in enrolled in the public school and in the Teacher in Treatment 

Program. 
• Students that are neither Private School Students nor Home Schooled Students 

and are properly enrolled in one (1) or more NC Virtual Public School courses 
 
Students that should be considered for VST1 (Visitor – Standard Day Program) or VED1 
(Visitor – Extended Day Program) status 
 

• A student that is a foreign exchange student 
• A student that is not enrolled for classes for at least ½ of the instructional school 

day 
• A student is not included in membership if the student is in membership in 

another N.C. public school on the same calendar days. An example of this would 
be a student in membership in school A. The student is taking a class or classes in 
school B. The student would be MST1 in school A and VST1 in school B. 
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Additional information on student enrollment status can be found in the "Those Entitled to 
Attend School" section in Chapter 1 of this manual and the "Compulsory School Attendance and 
Student Accounting" section in chapter 2.  

 
 

III. ABSENCE CODES 
 

NOTE: Granularity in PowerSchool is for assistance with coding. All codes with a preceding 
1 are lawful and a preceding 2 are unlawful. Codes must be approved by DPI and 
mapped to reporting codes. If an LEA creates an attendance code that is not approved 
by DPI and mapped accurately for lawful and unlawful reporting, the school’s PMR 
data will be incorrect which could result in reduced funding. 

 
 
Code 1 - Lawful Absences 

When satisfactory evidence of a lawful absence is provided to the appropriate school 
official, the absence should be coded as lawful. (See Chapter 2, Section IV)   

 

NOTE: 1H absences are lawful.  Adjustments are made in the calculation of Average 
Daily Attendance (ADA) so that 1H absences do not adversely affect a school's 
ADA. 

 

NOTE: When a student is homebound or hospitalized and IS NOT receiving 
hospital/homebound services, he/she is to be considered lawfully absent and 
coded 1. 

 
Code 2 - Unlawful Absences 

Students who are willfully absent from school without a lawful excuse (see Chapter 2, 
Section IV) are to be considered unlawfully absent.  (The Ten Day Rule applies.) )   

 

Code 1H - Medically Fragile and Teacher-In-Treatment 
The 1H absence code should only be used for students who have been identified as 
medically fragile or for students who are enrolled at one of the six Teacher-In-Treatment 
sites.  (See Chapter 2, Section IV) 

 

Code 3 - Suspensions 
The absence of a student which results from the suspension or expulsion of that student for 
misconduct may not be used for a compulsory attendance violation action.  (The Ten Day 
Rule does not apply to suspension days.) 

NOTE:  Code 3 is to be mapped to excused absence in PowerSchool – refer to note in chapter 
2 under Lawful Absences. 

Expulsions  
Students who are expelled are to be withdrawn from school as per directions stated in 
Chapter 2, Section IV. 

 

PowerSchool Authorized Absence 
PowerSchool authorized absences may be used to indicate a student's attendance at a 
school sponsored activity. 
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IV. WITHDRAWAL CODES - SCHOOL YEAR 
 
Students must be withdrawn on the day following their last day in attendance.  However, an absence 
may precede a withdrawal in the following three instances: (1) when the Absence Reason is a 
suspension, (2) when the Absence Reason is medical Fragile or Teacher-in-Treatment, and (3) when 
the withdrawal is the result of the student's death.  If withdrawing a student after the last day present 
causes absences to remain after the withdrawal, those absences must be removed. 
 

When a student withdraws from school during the school year, such withdrawals are to be designated 
by the appropriate code listed below. 
 

• NOTE: - If an LEA creates a withdrawal code that is not approved by DPI and mapped 
accurately for, the school’s PMR data will be incorrect which could result in reduced 
funding. 

 
 

Codes 
 

W1 - Transfer Withdrawal 
 

Student withdrew for one of the following reasons: 
 

• Transferred to another grade 
• Transferred to another attendance category 
• Transferred to another school or appropriate educational program 
• Transferred to an out of state school or appropriate educational program if 

request for records has been received. 
 

NOTE: PowerSchool does not automatically record the W1/R1 in the background of the 
system.  The school staff will withdraw the student as a W1 and re-enter the student 
as a R1 on the same day of the withdrawal for any grade level changes and attendance 
status changes. Make sure this W1/R1 process is done using the same day to not lose 
a day of membership for the student. 

 

NOTE: When a student is enrolled in any state-operated/supported program, private hospital 
facility with an accredited instruction program, or hospital with a public school 
number, he/she should be withdrawn from his/her home school LEA. 

 
W2 - Early Leaver Withdrawal - No Plan to Return Current School Year 

 

Student withdrew for one of the following reasons and will not return to school 
during the current school year: 

 

• Prior to compulsory attendance age 
• Dropped out 
• Long Term Suspension 
• Expelled 
• Transfer to community college or other post-secondary institution prior to 

graduation or completion of a program of studies 
• Transferred to an out of state school or appropriate educational program if no 

request for records has been received. 
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W2T - Adult High School Program Withdrawal – Enrollment in the Program is 
required 

 
  Students who leave a public school and enroll in an Adult High School (AHS) are to 

be coded W2T code once the local education agency has written verification that the 
student has officially enrolled in a community college Adult High School diploma 
program. 

NOTE - Effective school year 2015/16, students withdrawing from high school prior to 
graduation to attend and Adult High School program shall be coded as W2T with evidence of 
enrollment. The code of W2T will remain in effect unless the student leaves the AHS 
program or until the scheduling year of graduation for the student’s 4-year or 5-year cohort 
upon which time the W2T code will be changed to a W2 unless verification of AHE program 
completion is documented. Students verified as completing the Adult High School program 
with continuous enrollment in the program by the scheduled graduation of the cohort will be 
transitioned to W6. 

 

NOTE: Current regulations state that any student coded as a W2 (Early Leaver) during the 
previous spring who is in membership on the 20th day of the next school year will 
not be counted as a dropout. 

 

W3 - Death Withdrawal 
 

W4 - Early Completer Withdrawal 
 

Student completed the current year (as part of a formal instructional program) before 
the end of the school year calendar for one of the following reasons: 

 

• Graduated mid-year 
• Completed instructional program and received a diploma or certificate. 

 

The W4 withdrawal code should be posted to a student's record who graduates mid-
year or who finishes a formal instructional program, such as extended day, and earns 
a diploma or certificate at some point other than the end of the school year. 

 

The W4 code should not be used when students are moved from one grade to another 
within the school during the year or when they are promoted to a higher grade in 
another school during the year.  The W1 withdrawal code should be used in both 
instances. 

 

The W4 code should not be used at the end of the school year when students leave for 
vacation prior to the last day of school.  The coding of a student's absence for 
vacation days at the end of the year will depend upon the principal's determination as 
to whether the days of absence are excused or unexcused.  The principal may 
determine that some activities, such as a trip to a place of historical significance, may 
have sufficient educational value to cause a student's absence to be lawful.  Thus, a 
student who leaves for excused reasons (such as illness or an educationally-valuable 
trip) should be recorded as lawfully absent through the end of the school year and 
subsequently withdrawn as a W5 or W6. 
 

The W4 code should not be used at the close of the school year when graduation 
occurs prior to the last day of school.  LEAs may excuse temporary or occasional 
absences for reasons other than those stated in Chapter 2, Section IV, Section "D" 
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when the absences are in accordance with local school board policies. 
 

W6- High School Graduate  
 

Student completed the current school year at the end of the school year calendar and 
is not expected to return because of high school graduation. 

 
 

V.  WITHDRAWAL CODES - SUMMER 
 
After the end of the school year, additional information may be obtained about a student's 
completion/withdrawal for the previous school year 

If it is determined, during the same school year, that a child previously coded as a W2 has transferred 
to another school or another appropriate educational program, his/her withdrawal may be re-coded as 
a W1 prior to EOY.   The student must have enrolled prior to the beginning of the subsequent school 
year, or on earliest possible date of entrance to the receiving program after withdrawal from school.  
("School year" is defined as the period beginning with the first day of the school year and ending 
with the day before beginning of the next school year.) Due to the collection of PMR data in 
PowerSchool, withdrawal codes must not be changed after EOY that would result in having 
conflicting information in the system compared to the collected PMR data. The updates needed can 
be documented at the local school level. This change is not related to the W2T changes that may be 
needed. 
 
 
PowerSchool Transfer Withdrawal 

When a school using PowerSchool receives a formal request for student records because a student is 
transferring to another school the following procedure should be followed in order for the student to 
be enrolled at the new school in a timely manner: 

• If the transfer is during the school year, the student should be withdrawn on the appropriate 
day within 48 hours; 

• If the student has been promoted or retained, PowerSchool should be adjusted so that the 
student is withdrawn during the End of Year process (EOY) process; 

• If EOY has been completed, the student should be withdrawn within 48 hours; 

• Student records should be copied and the copy sent to the requesting school within 30 days. 

 
NOTE:  If a student's grade level is to be changed from what is was at the end of the school 

year due to an administration change or error before the next school year starts, in 
PowerSchool use the W1/E1 process. Every student must have an appropriate entry code 
such as E1 at the beginning of the school year (not an R1 code).  

 
YEAR ROUND SCHOOL to TRADITIONAL SCHOOL TRANSFERS 
 
If a student moves from a year round calendared school (YRS) to a traditional calendared school 
(TCS) and both schools are in the same LEA, the student should not be in Standard Membership 
(MST1 or MED1) at both schools on the same school calendar day.  Typically, a school has 185 
school calendar days in a school year.  School calendar days (1 - 185) should not be confused with 
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calendar days. 
 
The student should be re-enrolled as a visiting student (VST1) using the enrollment Code R2 at the 
TCS until the number of school days have passed on that school calendar that he was reported in 
membership at YRS.  On the proper school calendar day the student's Attendance Code should be 
shown as changing from Visiting (VST1) to Standard Day (MST1).  This prevents a student from 
being in standard membership at two schools in the same LEA on the same school calendar day. 
 
Example: 
The student is in standard membership for 40 days at YRS.  The student transfers to a TCS in the 
same LEA. The student should be in visitor membership (VST1 or VED1) status at the TCS for any 
school days up to and including the 40th school day and in standard membership (MST1 or MED1) 
from school days 41-185 at TCS. 

 
 

 
 VI. NC VIRTUAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS ATTENDANCE CATEGORY 
 
Students that are neither Private School Students nor Home Schooled Students and are properly 
enrolled in one (1) or more NC Virtual Public School courses should be registered in their Base 
School using the Admission Status Member - Standard Day or Member - Extended Day.  This should 
be done regardless of the number of courses the student is taking as "Face-to-Face" classes.  All 
classes should be properly scheduled in the NCVPS instance of PowerSchool. 
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CHAPTER 7: 
 

Maintenance and Transfer of School Records 
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MAINTENANCE OF SCHOOL RECORDS 
 

I.  GUIDELINES 
 
A. Records Preservation 

 
1. The Division of Archives and History, State Department of Cultural Resources, 

recommends permanent records be microfilmed two years after the student graduates or 
leaves the school.  For more information regarding preservation of student records, 
contact the Government Records Branch located at 215 North Blount Street in Raleigh, 
North Carolina.  Telephone number (919) 807-7280.  Mailing address: Mail Service 
Center # 4615 Raleigh NC  27699-4615. 

 
2. The Division of Archives and History, State Department of Cultural Resources has 

established guidelines for the retention of LEA and school records in its publication, 
Records Retention and Disposition Schedule for Local Education Agencies.  
This document can be found on the Internet at: 
www.ah.dcr.state.nc.us/records/local/schoolschedulefinal.pdf. 

 
3. For purposes of an Average Daily Membership (ADM) Audit, the Division of School 

Business recommends that all manual attendance and entry-withdrawal documents be 
maintained for one year following the school-year for which the documents were used. 

 
4. The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction does not maintain transcripts or 

student records.  For General Education Diploma (GED) transcripts or information, 
please call the North Carolina Community College System at 919.807.7100 or you may 
visit their web site at www.ncccs.cc.nc.us/Basic_Skills/ged.htm.  For information about 
K-12 public school records, please contact your school system directly.  Also, please 
contact the school district if your school has been closed or consolidated.  If they did not 
maintain the records for a closed school, please contact the North Carolina Office of 
Archives and History online at www.ah.dcr.state.nc.us/ or by telephone 919.807.7280. 

 
 

II. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
 
The Department of Public Instruction will not use a student's Social Security Number (SSN) as a 
statewide unique student identification number.  The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act 
(FERPA) has identified the SSN as non-directory information.  Schools cannot require a parent, 
guardian, or student to provide a Social Security Number. 
A. Schools must enter the SSN if provided, in PowerSchool. The SSN field in PowerSchool is 

not a required field and can be left blank only if the SSN is unknown or not provided. 

B. Federal law prohibits a school from requiring a student to report his/her SSN. 

C. NCDPI / LEAs / Schools may not collect an SSN from an individual unless authorized by 
law to do so or unless the collection of the SSN is otherwise imperative for the performance 
of that agency's duties and responsibilities as prescribed by law and the need is clearly 
documented. 

NOTE: Students will be entered into PowerSchool with a Unique Identifier (UID). School 

http://www.ah.dcr.state.nc.us/records/local/schoolschedulefinal.pdf
http://www.ncccs.cc.nc.us/Basic_Skills/ged.htm
http://www.ah.dcr.state.nc.us/
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staff members are to verify the UID of a student to eliminate the possibility of 
creating a duplicate. 

 

 
III. TRANSFER OF STUDENT RECORDS 

 
When any child transfers from one school system to another school system, the receiving school 
shall, within 30 days of the child's enrollment, obtain the child's record from the school from which 
the child is transferring.  If the child's parent, custodian, or guardian provides a copy of the child's 
record from the school from which the child is transferring, the receiving school shall, within 30 days 
of the child's enrollment, request written verification of the school record by contacting the school or 
institution named on the transferring child's record.  Upon receipt of a request, the principal or the 
principal's designee of the school from which the child is transferring shall not withhold the record or 
verification for any reason, except as is authorized under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy 
Act.  Any information received indicating that the transferring child is a missing child shall be 
reported to the North Carolina Center for Missing Persons. (G.S. 115C -403) 
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CHAPTER 8: 
 

Student Accounting Audits 



 

Page 58 of 76 

STUDENT ACCOUNTING AUDITS 
 
The School Reporting Section audits average daily membership (ADM) records. The items audited 
are set forth in this CHAPTER. 
 
 

I.  AVERAGE DAILY MEMBERSHIP AUDITS 
 
The audit of ADM records is authorized by North Carolina General Statute 115C-276(p), 115C-
288(b), and 115C-307(g).  These statutes state, in effect, any superintendent, principal, teacher, or 
other school employee of the public schools, who knowingly and willfully makes or procures another 
to make any false reports or records respecting daily attendance of students in the public schools 
shall be guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor, and the certificate of such person to teach in the public 
schools of North Carolina will be revoked by the State Superintendent of Public Instruction. 
 
The purpose of the audit is to determine the reported student membership is accurate, and the student 
attendance accounting system in use is being maintained and producing accurate data. 
 

I. Authorization: 
a. N.C. General Statute 115C-301. This statute deals with the allocation of teachers. 

 Initial teacher allotments are based on the higher of the prior year's actual first 
two months of ADM or the projected higher of the first two months of ADM. 

b. N.C. General Statutes 115C-276(p), 115C-288(b), and 115C-307(g). 
Auditing of the ADM is authorized by the above statutes which address the duties 
of administration and teachers of the school 

 
II. The object of this audit is: 

a. To determine that the school's student membership, as reported, is accurate; 
b. That accurate student attendance records are being maintained; 
c. That State Board of Education attendance policies and procedures are being followed. 

 
 

III. Criteria for selection of the School to be audited: 
a. Schools with student accounting concerns encountered by School Business Services 

or any other area of the Department of Public Instruction; or  
b. Request by local boards of education, school administration or their representatives; 

or 
c. In conjunction with Charter Renewal; or 
d. Concerns on Principal's Monthly Report (PMR); or 
e. Confirmation of the Average Daily Membership (ADM). 

 
IV. Pre-Audit Procedures: 

a. Obtain reports or screen prints from the PowerSchool portion of the North Carolina 
Home Base Student Information System. 
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1. PMR(s) for the month(s) being audited; 
2. Consecutive Absences Report; 
3. PMR Instructional Minutes Setup; 
4. PMR Interval Setup; 
5. Bell Schedule; 
6. Attendance Code; 
7. Attendance Preferences; 
8. Student list (Active and Inactive); 
9. Staff list 

 
V. Site Audit: 

a. Meet with principal, headmaster, or his/her representative to: 
1. Explain the purpose of the audit and audit procedures; 
2. Determine when to perform a student count in conjunction with 

school representative that is least possible disruption of normal 
school. 

3. Determine if Student Count will be done via Alpha check-off, Period 
Roll Call, or Head Count. 

4. Request the following: 
a. All individual pupil records (IPRs) or access to their location, 
b. Entry/Withdrawal records if not included in IPRs, 
c. Copies of Absentee Reports for the days of the school month 

being audited, 
d. Copies of Sign In/Out records for the days in the school 

month being audited, 
e. Copies of any manual attendance data for the days in the 

school month being audited. 
5. Advise the school representative that the following records may also 

be needed should additional substantiation be required: 
a. School admission application forms, 
b. Internal pupil accounting records, 
c. Bus records, 
d. Lunchroom records, 
e. Lottery records. 

b. Review IPRs to determine: 
1. Student Name, 
2. Date of Birth, 
3. Domicile, 
4. Vaccination record, 
5. Admission Documentation, 
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6. Proper Entry Code and Admission Status Code usage. 
c. Compare individual students' absences totals and the absence codes between any 

manual records provided and the Daily/Meeting Attendance Reports for Home Base. 
1. Compare all enrollment and withdrawn dates and codes with any 

manual documentation provided or in the IPRs. 
2. Confirm the proper application of the 10-Day Rule of Student 

Accounting. 
3. Make copies of supporting documents or detailed notes of concerns 

found during the audit 
 
C. Procedure When Deliberate Falsification of Records is Determined: 
 

1. The consultant will immediately notify the Director for the Division of School 
Business. 

2. The consultant will impound those records needed to substantiate falsification. 
3. The Director of the Division of School Business will determine what further action 

will be taken. 
 
D. Post-Audit Procedures: 
 

1. The consultant will prepare a final audit findings report. 
2. An error rate of 5 percent of the total enrollments, as reported on the PMR, is 

considered the maximum acceptable within established audit standards.  Error rates 
in excess of 5 percent will cause the audited school to be placed on probationary 
status.  Schools placed on probationary status will be subjected to a re-audit during 
the following school year.   

3. The Director for the Division of School Business will send a final audit findings 
letter to the local superintendent. 
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CHAPTER 9: 
 

State Board Policy 
Standards for Early Admission to Kindergarten 
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State Board Policy 
State Standards for Early Admission to Kindergarten 

Policy ID Number: GCS-J-001 
Administrative Procedures Act Reference Number and Category: 16 NCAC 6E.0105 

 
The 1997 General Assembly passed legislation allowing a child who has reached his/her fourth 
birthday by April 16 to enter kindergarten if he or she demonstrates an extraordinary level of 
academic ability and maturity.  In determining eligibility, the principal shall convene a committee of 
educational professionals who will assist him/her in making decisions about each individual child.  
Criteria that shall be considered include the following: 
 

• Aptitude 
• Achievement 
• Performance 
• Observable Student Behavior 
• Motivation to Learn 
• Student Interest 

 
Student Aptitude 
 
A child eligible to enter school early shall be precocious in academic and social development and 
score at the 98th percentile on a standard individual test of intelligence such as the Stanford-Binet, 
the Wechsler Preschool and Primary Scale of Intelligence, The Kaufman Anderson, or any 
other comparable tests, that shall be administered by a licensed psychologist.  Although superior 
aptitude is a strong indicator of extraordinary academic ability, every child with a score at the 98th 
percentile in intelligence may not need early admission to kindergarten.  Some children could have a 
negative experience if the demands of a structured school day are imposed too early. 
 
Achievement 
 
Children entering kindergarten early shall be functioning two to three years beyond their peers.  
Children eligible for early admission to kindergarten shall score at the 98th percentile on either 
Reading or Mathematics on a standard test of achievement such as the Metropolitan Readiness 
Test, the Stanford Early School Achievement Test, the Mini Battery of Achievement, the 
Woodcock-Johnson, the Test of Early Mathematics TEMA), the Test of Early Reading Ability 
(TERA), or any other comparable tests.  The licensed psychologist who administers the aptitude test 
may administer the achievement test or have a member of his/her professional staff administer the 
test.  Also an impartial professional educator who is trained in the use of the instrument may 
administer such a test as long as he/she has no potential conflict of interest in the outcome of the 
assessment. 
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Performance 
 
Children displaying a need to enter kindergarten early shall be able to perform tasks well above their 
age peers.  Some indicators the principal may observe are the child's ability in independent reading, 
problem solving skills, advanced vocabulary, and some writing fluency.  A child ready for 
kindergarten would not necessarily demonstrate precociousness in all of these areas.  The parents 
shall submit a sample of student work showing outstanding examples of ability in any of the 
following areas: art, math, writing, dramatic play, creative productions, science, social interactions, 
etc.  For further indication of performance, the principal may instruct a teacher to complete an 
informal reading assessment. 
 
Observable Student Behavior/Student Interest 
 
If a child is to be successful in early admission, he/she should be socially and developmentally 
mature enough to be in a structured school setting for a full school day.  The child should be capable 
of following verbal instructions and functioning independently within a group.  Not every child with 
extraordinary academic ability is mature enough to attend public school early.  The school system 
shall require two recommendation letters with specific documentation of physical and social maturity 
from preschool teachers, child care workers, pediatricians, or other adults with direct knowledge of 
the child.  Documentation checklists that might be useful are the California Preschool Competency 
Scale, the Harrison Scale, or any other comparable scale of early social development. 
 
Motivation/Student Interest 
 
A child ready for early admission to kindergarten should be eager to learn and be excited about a new 
school experience.  These children should display a thirst for knowledge consequently pushing the 
parents for new and challenging learning situations.  If only the parent is interested in the child's 
attending school, early admission is not a good option.  Principals or his/her designee shall determine 
this information in an informal interview with the child and in a more structured interview with the 
parent.  An appropriate interview with a child would take place in a warm and inviting environment, 
such as the kindergarten classroom.  The child might even be invited to spend a day with a 
kindergarten teacher.  Questions the principal or his/her designee should ask the child would 
concentrate on the personal interests of the child.  A child who is ready for school should respond 
with enthusiasm when asked to tell about a special collection or a topic about which he/she has a 
great deal of knowledge or extreme interest.  A child who is a candidate may be one who watches the 
Discovery Channel, reads everything he/she can find about dinosaurs, be able to carry on a 
discussion about volcanoes, etc. 
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Time Lines 
 
A parent wishing to submit his/her child for consideration for early admission to kindergarten shall 
present to the principal of his/her local school the required information within the first thirty (30) 
calendar days of the school's instructional year.  All testing must be administered after the April 16th 
that follows the child's fourth birthday.  The principal will act on the request within three (3) weeks.  
If the child is admitted to kindergarten, before the end of the first ninety (90) calendar days of the 
child's being enrolled, the principal may rescind his/her approval based on substantial evidence 
documenting that the child is not adjusting satisfactorily to the school setting.  Before a child may be 
exited from school, the parent must be invited to assist in the development of intervention strategies. 
 If the strategies are not successful and the decision is made to remove the child from school, parents 
must be given at least ten (10) days' notice to arrange child care if needed. 
 
Local Flexibility 
 
Although the State Board of Education has adopted these statewide standards defining requirements 
for early admission to kindergarten, each local education agency may add additional information 
needed from a parent or make very specific requirements in each category for consideration. 
 
Note: 1997 House Bill 1099 states that it is the responsibility of the principal to find that the child 

has extraordinary academic ability and has the maturity to justify admission to school and, 
further, it is the responsibility of the parents/guardians to present information to the principal 
to support that the child has extraordinary academic ability and is appropriately mature to 
justify early admission. 

 
Information for the Receiving School 
 
Although early admission to kindergarten does not automatically place a child in the program for 
academically gifted students, the child obviously has very special learning needs.  Once the child has 
been enrolled ninety (90) calendar days or at any time before ninety (90) calendar days once the 
school is satisfied the child has adjusted satisfactorily and will remain in school, the child shall be 
reviewed by the Gifted Identification Team.  If the team recommends the child receive services, 
either a Differentiated Education Plan or an Individual Differentiated Education Plan shall be 
developed. 
 
 
Questions concerning the early admission to Kindergarten should be addressed to the Office of Early 
Learning, (919) 807-3946. 
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CHAPTER 10: 

School Identification Number Assignment 
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I. SCHOOL NUMBER ASSIGNMENT
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction assigns Local Education Agencies (LEA) unique 
identification numbers.  Unique school numbers are also assigned by NCDPI.   

Requests to add new schools should be submitted in the Educational Directory and Demographical 
Information Exchange (EDDIE) approximately four to six months before the school is scheduled to 
enroll students. 

• Alternative schools should be approved by Alternative Learning Programs before requesting
a school number in EDDIE.

• Cooperative Innovative High (CIH) Schools should be approved by the State Board of
Education (SBE) before requesting a school number in EDDIE.

• Pre-K Schools that contain pre-kindergarten students only are not assigned school numbers
and are not included in EDDIE. Pre-K only schools may be given a local use number (0-299)
by their LEA and entered in PowerSchool. Contact your district's NC SIS Coordinator or the
Home Base Support Center for more information.

• Numbers 000-299 are reserved for local use in PowerSchool, but are not used in EDDIE.
Contact your district's NC SIS Coordinator or the Home Base Support Center for more
information.

NCDPI is the only entity that has the jurisdiction over school numbering.  Until a NCDPI assigned 
number is established the use of any identifying number is unauthorized.  EDDIE is the authoritative 
source for school numbers.  EDDIE information is located on the Financial and Business Services' 
web page www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/eddie/. 

II. LEA AND SCHOOL INFORMATION

The Educational Directory and Demographical Information Exchange (EDDIE) is an online 
application containing LEA (school district) and school information such as LEA numbers, school 
numbers, administrative contacts, school types, grade levels, calendar types, program types, 
addresses, and more. This information is maintained and edited by subscribed users at the LEAs and 
Charter Schools. EDDIE does not contain individual teacher or student information. EDDIE is the 
authoritative source for NC school information and feeds multiple systems including; Accountability, 
PowerSchool, NC School Report Cards, and is used to meet federal reporting requirements. 

LEAs and charter schools are responsible for ensuring their data are complete, accurate, and current. 

EDDIE information, including the procedure for subscribing and a list of subscribed users, is 
located at www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/eddie/.  Anyone may view information 
contained in EDDIE, only subscribed users have access to edit and update their information. 

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/eddie/
http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/eddie/
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Membership by Grade, Race, and Sex Report 
 
The Membership by Grade/Race/Sex Data (GRS) is collected at the same time the first school month 
Principal's Month Report (PMR).  The data is for each student in membership on the last day of the 
1st school month.  The data is used for reporting purpose to local, state, federal agencies, and other 
organizations.  Both traditional grade levels of Kindergarten through 13th grade and Extended Day 
9th through 13th grades data is included.  Ethnic categories collected are American Indian, Asian, 
Hispanic, Black, White, Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander and Two or More.  Each of the above is 
further disaggregated by male and female.  
 

Retention and Promotion Report 
 
The Retention and Promotion Report (RP) is a collection of individual records of student progress 
from the recently completed school year including summer school activity.  The report is submitted 
to NCDPI in September from all LEAs and Charter Schools on a pre-determined date.  The number 
of students retained, promoted, or graduated must match the number of students in membership on 
the last day (MLD) as reported on the 9th Principal's Monthly Report of the reporting school year. 
 
R/P/G codes indicate retention reason: 
 
Local Academic Standard - LEA set their own standards in course areas (reading, math, social 
studies) and number of credits in order to be promoted to the next grade. 
The course credit most often occurs at the high school. 
 
Local Attendance Standard - LEAs frequently set standards and requirements for the # of days of 
absences the students must not exceed in order to be promoted.  For example, an LEA may have a 
policy that states a student will be retained if he or she is absent 20 days. 
 
Local Administrative Decision as granted by General Statute 115c-288. 
 
State Standards - defined by the Statewide Student Accountability Standards  
www.ncpublicschools.org/promotionstandards/policy/ . 
 
Graduation is reported as either Graduated with Certificate or with a Diploma. 
 
When the activity is associated with a summer school, the school is identified as Local Summer 
School (LOCS).  The coding structure of retention, promotion, and graduation is the same for 
summer school as with regular school. 

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/promotionstandards/policy/
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APPENDIX A     INTERNET WEBPAGE LINKS 
 
North Carolina Public Schools Home Page 
www.ncpublicschools.org 
 

NCDPI Financial & Business Services Home Page 
www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/ 
 

School Allotments 
www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/allotments/ 
 

School Attendance & Student Accounting Manual 
www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/manuals/   
 

UERS Data Transfer Schedule  
www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/data/  
 

Home Base 
www.nc-sis.org  
 

EDDIE 
www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/eddie/   
 

Record Retention and Disposition  
www.ah.dcr.state.nc.us/records/local/schoolschedulefinal.pdf  
 

Division of Non-Public Education 
www.ncdnpe.org/  
 

Financial and Business Services Staff Directory 
www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/directory/ 
 

General Statues of North Carolina (Elementary & Secondary Education) 
www.ncleg.net/gascripts/Statutes/StatutesTOC.pl?Chapter=0115C  
 

State Board of Education Policy Manual 
http://sbepolicy.dpi.state.nc.us/  
 

Immunization Laws 
www.immunizenc.org/NCRulesandLaws.htm  

http://www.ncpublicschools.org/
http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/
http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/allotments/
http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/manuals/
http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/data/
https://bl2prd0310.outlook.com/owa/redir.aspx?C=Io9d8_GpfEG6qQWDpaz7Qw6igd8xW9AIRteNRTlIzdDiZ_k7K5RB1aX2yoHQ9kEjaILH7ZfyvGU.&URL=http%3a%2f%2fwww.nc-sis.org%2f
http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/accounting/eddie/
http://www.ah.dcr.state.nc.us/records/local/schoolschedulefinal.pdf
http://www.ncdnpe.org/
http://www.ncpublicschools.org/fbs/directory/
http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/Statutes/StatutesTOC.pl?Chapter=0115C
http://sbepolicy.dpi.state.nc.us/
http://www.immunizenc.org/NCRulesandLaws.htm
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APPENDIX B     Exceptions for Data Review 
Exception Code Severity Title  Business Rule Checked Action (Next Steps) 

PMR-
PRECHECK-A 

FATAL Students with multiple 
matching enrollment records 

List students who have one or more 
identical enrollment records 
(matching school number, entry date, 
and exit date within the current 
school).  No data will be collected 
until all duplicate enrollment records 
are resolved. 

For each listed student, 
select Transfer Info and 
examine the current and 
historical enrollment 
records.  Duplicate and 
overlapping entry and exit 
dates across records are 
not permitted.  Edit the 
entry and/or exit dates of 
records that would cause 
this exception. 

PMR-0 FATAL PMR Calendar Not Configured Ensure the PMR (Intervals) calendar 
has been properly configured, 
including for all tracks at track 
schools.  No data will be collected 
until this step is taken. 

Configure the PMR 
Calendar for this school 
under Start Page > School 
Setup > PMR Interval 
Setup. 

PMR-1 INFO R1 entries due to enrollment 
changes 

List of students who have an Entry 
Code of R1 in the current year AND 
have a grade level or membership 
status change. 

If the information is correct 
no further action is needed. 

PMR-2 INFO Students listed on PMR and no 
longer enrolled 

List of students who have been 
withdrawn from PowerSchool during 
the PMR Month. Note that NO SHOW 
students are always excluded from 
the PMR. 

If the information is correct 
no further action is needed. 

PMR-3 FATAL Student double counted in 
membership 

List of students in the current PMR 
month who have a greater number of 
days in membership than the total 
number of days in the month.  This is 
only possible when a student has 
transferred from one school to 
another and achieves more 
membership days (as MST1 or 
MED1) than allowed in a PMR month 
in the current LEA. 

Review the enrollment 
records for each student.  
Adjust the entry/exit date on 
the previous or current 
enrollment to ensure the 
total number of 
membership days for the 
month are not exceeded.  
Then, create another 
enrollment record to bridge 
the gap using an Admission 
Status of VST1 (or VED1 as 
appropriate). 

PMR-4 INFO Students with non-funded 
admission status 

List of students whose Admission 
Status is VST1, VED1, VST2 or left 
blank. 

If the information is correct 
no further action is needed. 

PMR-5 FATAL Students assigned to incorrect 
admission status for grade 
level 

Students in grade levels less than 6 
may not have an Extended Day 
admission status (MED1 or VED1). 

Change the admission 
status for each student to 
MST1 (or VST1). This is 
done on the transfer info 
page, for any current year 
enrollment records. 

PMR-6 WARN Students with Extended Day 
status assigned to Standard 
Day track 

Students with an Extended Day status 
should only be assigned to an 
Extended Day track in a track school. 
This check is designed as a warning 
for students in grade levels 6 or 
greater. 

Change the admission 
status for each student to 
MST1 (or VST1), or 
reassign the student to an 
Extended Day track. If an 
invalid track exists on the 
students Modify Info page, 
set the track to blank for a 
non-track school. This 
typically happens when a 
student transfers from a 
track school to a non-track 
school. 

PMR-7 WARN Student with Standard Day 
status assigned to Extended 
Day track 

Only students with an extended day 
status (MED1 or VED1) may be 
assigned to an Extended Day track. 

Change the admission 
status for each student to 
MED1 (or VED1), or 
reassign the student to a 
Standard Day track. 
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PMR-8 FATAL Students not assigned to a 
valid Race/Ethnicity 

All students must have a valid 
race/ethnicity value specified. 

Edit the student record to 
declare a valid 
race/ethnicity value. If the 
student has a race/ethnicity 
value filled in, just hit 
submit at the bottom of the 
page. 

PMR-9 FATAL Student missing admission 
status 

All students must have an admission 
status to be counted for the PMR. The 
valid funding codes are MST1 and 
MED1.  Admission status cannot be 
blank or null. 

Enter the appropriate 
admission status code for 
each student listed, under 
their Transfer Info page. Be 
sure to enter this for all 
current year enrollment 
records. 

PMR-10 FATAL Students not assigned to a 
valid track 

Ensure that all students are assigned 
to a valid track.  This check is only 
performed in track schools. 

For each listed student, edit 
the student record and set 
the value for track to a valid 
value on the Modify 
Information page. 

PMR-11 FATAL Students with multiple E1 
entries in the same school year 

A student may have only ONE entry 
code of E1 within the same school 
year.  

For each student, edit 
current and previous 
enrollments on the Transfer 
Info page to set an 
appropriate entry code, 
usually R1 in this case.  Be 
sure to only edit enrollment 
records in the current 
school year. 

PMR-12 FATAL Students with multiple E2 
entries in the same school year 

A student may have only ONE entry 
code of E2 within the same school 
year. 

For each student, edit 
current and previous 
enrollments on the Transfer 
Info page to set an 
appropriate entry code, 
usually R2 in this case.  Be 
sure to only edit enrollment 
records in the current 
school year. 

PMR-13 FATAL Students with exit code W4 in 
grade level less than 10 

Students may not have an exit code 
of W4 (Early Completer) for grade 
levels less than 10. 

Enter the appropriate exit 
code for each student. 

PMR-14 INFO Students with Exit Code W4 in 
grade level 10 or higher 

List students with an exit code of W4 
(Early Completer) in grade levels 10 
and above. 

If the information is correct 
no further action is needed. 

PMR-15 FATAL Students with overlapping 
enrollment records 

List students with enrollment records 
that have overlapping entry and exit 
dates.  Ideally enrollment records are 
contiguous and not overlapping.  
Overlapping records have the 
potential to cause reporting and other 
errors in the system. 

For each student, examine 
the enrollment records and 
edit the entry or exit dates 
as appropriate to eliminate 
overlapping dates. 

PMR-16 FATAL Students with missing or 
invalid entry code 

List students where their enrollment 
record is missing the entry code or 
contains an entry code that is not 
linked to a code recognized by DPI. 

For each student, examine 
the enrollment records and 
enter a valid entry code. 

PMR-17 FATAL Enrolled students with no 
schedule 

List students who are currently 
enrolled but are not scheduled for any 
classes. 

For each student, schedule 
the student for one or more 
classes, or post an exit date 
and code if the student is 
no longer in this school. 
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PMR-18 FATAL Initial R1/R5/R6 enrollment 
code invalid 

Ensure that the R1, R5 and R6 codes 
are not the initial enrollment code for 
a student starting the school year or 
transferred to a new school after the 
start of the school year. 

For each listed student, 
examine the enrollment 
records and update the 
initial entry code for the 
current school from R1, R5, 
or R6 to E1 or E2 if this is 
the first N. C. public school 
the student has attended in 
the current school year. If 
this is not the first public 
school in N. C. that the 
student has attended in the 
current school year, change 
the "re-entry" code to be R2 
or R3.  Refer to the SASA 
manual for guidelines of 
code use. 

PMR-19 FATAL Student missing valid Gender All student must have a valid gender 
for reporting requirements 

Enter a valid gender for all 
students. 

PMR-20 FATAL Students with missing or 
invalid exit code 

List students where their enrollment 
record is missing the exit code or 
contains an exit code that is not linked 
to a code recognized by DPI. 

For each student, examine 
the enrollment records and 
enter a valid exit code. 

PMR-21 WARN Students absent on first day of 
enrollment 

A student cannot be absent on their 
day of enrollment. Students must be 
present 1/2 of the instructional day to 
be considered in membership. The 
only exception to this is a 1H 
absence. 

Review the Daily 
Headcount Adjustment 
report. Any student that has 
an absence on their 
enrollment date must be 
update by either changing 
the enrollment date to the 
students first day of 
attendance or no-showing 
the student. Any student 
with a 1H absence on their 
enrollment date, can be left 
as is with no change, if the 
reported absence is correct. 

PMR-22 FATAL Students with a VST2 status Student with an Admission Status of 
VST2 are in a temporary status of 
enrollment.  VST2 indicates that the 
student’s previous school has not 
released them in the current school 
year.  The status of VST2 must be 
corrected before the PMR is 
approved. 

Confirm that the previous 
school of attendance has 
released the VST2 student. 
 Update the enrollment date 
and the Admission Status 
as required before 
approving the PMR. 

PMR-23 FATAL Students with invalid or 
unofficial student numbers 

Identify students who have a student 
number greater than 10 digits, or a 
number less than 30000.  Each 
student must have a valid state-
assigned number.  Students may also 
be listed if their student number and 
state-assigned student number do not 
match. 

Contact the HomeBase 
helpdesk for assistance on 
the process to obtain valid 
state-assigned identifiers 
for these students and to 
ensure the State Student ID 
matches the Student 
Number. 

PMR-24 FATAL Students with enrollment dates 
prior to start of school 

Identify students who have an entry 
date any time prior to the school start 
date. These students cannot be 
counted on the PMR unless their 
entry date is set to the first day of 
school or later. Students should be 
listed even if they have an admission 
status other than MST1 or MED1. 

Review the enrollment 
records for each student in 
the list. Modify the entry 
date to reflect the first day 
of school, or the first day 
each student actually 
attended school. Also, 
ensure course enrollment 
dates match first day of 
school enrollment. 

PMR-25 WARN Students assigned to a track Ensure that all students are not 
assigned to a track given that this is 
not a track school. 

For each listed student, edit 
the current student record 
and remove the value for 
track on the Modify 
Information page. 
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PMR-26 WARN Initial R2/R3 enrollment code 
invalid 

Ensure that the R2 and R3 codes are 
not used as initial entry codes for the 
first public school attended in N. C. in 
the current school year.  
             R2 or R3 are used when a 
student transfers from another N. C. 
public school in the same school year. 
The original public school in the 
current year must have a E1 or E2 
code. 

For each listed student, 
examine the enrollment 
records and update the 
entry code from R2 or R3 to 
E1 or E2. For each listed 
student, examine the 
enrollment records and 
update the entry code from 
R2 or R3 to E1 or E2. If the 
R2 or R3 code is correct, 
check the original 
enrollment record for the 
year to verify it is not blank 
and is E1 or E2. Refer to 
the SASA manual for 
guidelines of code use. 

PMR-27 FATAL Students with too few 
instructional minutes for PMR 
reporting 

List all students where their daily 
instructional minutes is typically 50% 
or less of the total instructional 
minutes for a regular school day.  
These are generally students with 
only a few scheduled classes.  As 
such they cannot be counted in ADM. 
 These students should be excluded 
from the PMR by identifying them with 
an admission status of visitor (VST1 
or VED1). 

Review each student on the 
list.  If the student does not 
have a full schedule and is 
repeatedly showing as 
absent on the PMR their 
admission status should be 
changed to VST1 or VED1. 

PMR-28 FATAL Students not counted due to 
bad entry and exit dates 

Identify students who have an exit 
date prior to the entry date in the 
current school year. These students 
are not currently counted on the PMR 
because it is not clear whether these 
students should be counted or not. If 
so, the entry date must be prior to the 
exit date. 

Review the enrollment 
records for each student in 
the list. Modify the 
described enrollment record 
to ensure the exit date is 
later than the entry date. 

PMR-29 WARN Daily Instructional Minutes not 
configured 

The value for Daily Instructional 
Minutes is not properly configured for 
the school.  This value represents the 
total daily instructional minutes in a 
regular school day not including lunch 
periods or time between classes. 

Configure the Daily 
Instructional Minutes from 
the PMR Interval Setup 
page located under Start 
Page > School Setup > 
PMR Instructional Minutes 
Setup. Enter the number of 
instructional minutes in a 
regular school day in the 
range 180 to 480 minutes. 

PMR-30 WARN Students with 10 consecutive 
unexcused absences (10 Day 
Rule) 

List students who have 10 
consecutive unexcused absences. If a 
student is in violation on the last day 
of the school year, the student must 
be withdrawn the day after the last 
day of attendance before the 9th 
month PMR is completed. 

If a student is in violation on 
the last day of the school 
year, the student must be 
withdrawn the day after the 
last day of attendance 
before the 9th month PMR 
is completed. If the violation 
occurs before the 9th 
month/last school day, the 
school has no actions to 
take. The student in 
violation will not be included 
in ADM for the days that are 
violation of the 10 Day Rule 
occurred 
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PMR-31 Fatal Schools with Instructional Days 
Beyond June 30th 

No school should have instructional 
days past June 30th. Several tables within 

PowerSchool are affected 
by this error, please 
Contact Home Base 
Support Center to obtain 
instructions on how to 
update your school 
calendar to reflect proper 
end date and to receive 
instructions on how to 
properly update all other 
tables needing to be 
updated due to this error. 

 
PMR-32 Fatal Membership Last Day (MLD) 

for Reporting Month equals 
Zero. 

Verify that the current year calendar is 
correct.  

 
Note: This list may be updated periodically. 
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APPENDIX C      
 

PowerSchool Codes 

Illness or Injury – 1A 

Quarantine – 1D 

Death in the Immediate Family – 1C 

Medical or Dental Appointments 1B 

Court or Administrative Proceedings – 1E 

Religious Observance – 1F 

Educational Opportunity – 1G 

Local School Board Policy – 1I 

Absence related to deployment activities – 1N 

Child Care – 1K 

Medically Fragile – 1M 

Teacher-in-Treatment – 1H 

Unlawful Absences – 2A 

Lack of Immunization – 2B 

Suspensions or Expulsions – 3 
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2016-2017 SASA Revision Changes 

Table of Contents:  

 
Chapter 6 Student Accounting Codes I. Enrollment Codes 

• Note added for Enrollment code of N1 for Program Schools 
 
APPENDIX B     Exceptions for Data Review 

• Page 74 added PMR 32 exception 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

In compliance with federal law, the NC Department of Public Instruction administers all state-
operated educational programs, employment activities and admissions without discrimination 
because of race, religion, national or ethnic origin, color, age, military service, disability, or gender, 
except where exemption is appropriate and allowed by law. 
 
Inquiries or complaints regarding discrimination issues should be directed to: 
Dr. Rebecca Garland, Deputy State Superintendent :: 6368 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-
6368 :: Telephone: (919) 807-3200 :: Fax: (919) 807-3388 
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