NOTE :: Various file formats are used on this page that may require download. If larger than 1mb, it will take longer to download. For instructions or more information, please visit our download page.


As part of the NC Standards Review, Revision and Implementation process, the Department of Public Instruction is seeking your input on the current student information and technology standards (known as ITES, Information Technology Essential Standards) via survey. The survey may be accessed via:

Thank you in advance for taking the time to complete this survey and assisting in our evaluation of the 2009 ITES. We value your expertise and unique perspectives on digital teaching and learning in our state. The ITES Steering Committee will be reviewing this data to determine if they should be revised.

During 2009, Digital Teaching and Learning staff members worked with LEA representatives and other DPI staff to create Information and Technology Essential Standards. These standards were developed using Bloom's Revised Taxonomy and replace the Computer Skills and Information Literacy Standard Courses of Study. The standards were piloted in 2010-2011.

These standards are critical building blocks for the education of our students. ITES represent the "must have" information and technology skills and knowledge that each student must have in order to achieve success at the next level. The standards are designed to be delivered by classroom teachers in all curricular areas and grade levels. As the ITES are taught throughout all classrooms and across all curricular areas, it is essential that classroom teachers collaborate with school library media coordinators and instructional technology facilitators in delivering this instruction. School library media coordinators and instructional technology facilitators should be active participants in grade level and/or curricular area planning groups as these teams analyze student data, identify learning goals, plan and deliver instruction, and assess student progress.

The Information and Technology Essential Standards are organized into the following 5 strands. A document containing the learning progression from K through 9-12 is linked to the title of the strand.

Learning Progressions:

Strands of Information and Technology Essential Standards

Strand Alignment Forms

  • Sources of Alignment Information Form
    (doc, 40kb)
  • Informational Text Alignment Form
    (doc, 35kb)
  • Technology as a Tool Alignment Form
    (doc, 39kb)
  • Research Process Alignment Form
    (doc, 34kb)
  • Safety and Ethical Use Alignment Form
    (doc, 37kb)

Essential Standards

The documents below include the Essential Standards for each grade with a sampling of clarifying objectives. These clarifying objectives are not required curricular objectives but are rather an example to aid local curriculum development.

Alignment Documents

Description and Link

Alignment of ITES, AASL, NETS-S Instruction
(pdf, 69kb)


American Association of School Librarians

Sheena Russell, Randolph County Schools

NC Professional Teacher Standards

Professional Teacher Standards
(pdf, 95kb)

Professional Development Plan Form
(doc, 62kb)