CONTACT :: Dr. Yvette Stewart, Assistant Director Educator Effectiveness

Burroughs Wellcome Fund Teacher of the Year
As of 2013, the NC Department of Public Instruction is proud to partner with Burroughs Wellcome Fund to honor North Carolina teachers. The goals of the North Carolina Teacher of the Year program include honoring teachers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and superior achievement in teaching; recruiting quality teachers in to the profession; building a network of local teachers of the year; modeling the best in teaching practices; and providing role models for teachers in the effective use of technology in the classroom.

Wells Fargo Principal of the Year
Each year, North Carolina, in conjunction with Wells Fargo Bank, recognizes outstanding school leadership by honoring exceptional principals. One Principal of the Year and seven regional Principals of the Year are chosen and receive recognition and financial rewards.