To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 1999-00 :: MAY 24, 2000


Thirteen North Carolina public schools have proven they're exemplary when it comes to providing a safe school and will be recognized for their efforts in a ceremony scheduled for 1 p.m., May 30, in the Education Building, Room 150, 301 N. Wilmington Street, Raleigh.

The Triple "S" School Award was established by the Department of Public Instruction's School Improvement Division to recognize public schools that go above and beyond in their efforts to ensure the safety of students and staff. The program is voluntary. "This program provides an excellent way to recognize those schools that are really striving hard to provide the optimum atmosphere for students and staff to learn and work," State Superintendent Mike Ward said.

State Board of Education Chairman Phil Kirk said the Super Safe School Program ties in nicely with the Board's Strategic Priority to provide Safe, Orderly and Caring Schools. "High student performance is difficult to achieve if our schools do not provide a learning environment that is inviting and supportive."

Schools receiving recognition as a Super Safe School are:

  • Shallotte Middle (Brunswick County Schools);
  • Pineville Elementary (Charlotte/Mecklenburg Schools);
  • Weaverville Primary (Buncombe County Schools);
  • Mulberry Elementary (Wilkes County Schools);
  • Bethel Elementary (Pitt County Schools);
  • Davenport Elementary (Caldwell County Schools);
  • Richmond Senior High (Richmond County Schools);
  • Western Guilford High (Guilford County Schools);
  • Eastern Guilford High (Guilford County Schools);
  • C.B. Martin Middle (Edgecombe County Schools);
  • Vandora Springs Elementary (Wake County Schools);
  • South Granville High (Granville County Schools); and
  • E.O. Young Jr., Elementary (Vance County Schools).

To receive recognition as a Super Safe School, schools had to submit a portfolio documenting the safety processes they had in place. On-site visits also were conducted prior to final recommendations. In recognition of their achievement, each school will receive a plaque designating them as a Triple "S" School for 1999-00.

Several other schools will receive a Certificate of Participation for submitting applications for the recognition. These schools are:

  • East Mecklenburg High (Charlotte/Mecklenburg Schools);
  • Winstead Avenue Elementary (Nash-Rocky Mount Schools);
  • Sandy Grove Elementary (Hoke County Schools);
  • Forbush High (Yadkin County Schools);
  • First Flight Elementary (Dare County Schools);
  • Shelby High ( Shelby City Schools);
  • Shelby Middle (Shelby City Schools);
  • Saint Pauls Elementary (Robeson County Schools); and
  • Norwood Elementary (Stanly County Schools).

Schools are not required to be recognized as Triple "S" Schools in order for principals and assistant principals to be eligible for safe schools salary incentives. For further information on the Super Safe School Program, please contact Marguerite Peebles, Alternative and Safe Schools section chief, DPI, 919.807.3940.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.