To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 2000-01 :: FEBRUARY 6, 2001


Twenty-five North Carolina public schools were recognized for providing a safe learning environment for children and educators by being designated a Super Safe School for 2000-01. The schools received their awards during a luncheon ceremony held at the third annual Safe, Orderly and Caring Schools Conference.

The Triple "S" School Award was established by the Department of Public Instruction's School Improvement Division to recognize public schools that go above and beyond in their efforts to ensure the safety of students and staff. "This program provides an excellent way to recognize those schools that are really striving hard to provide the optimum learning environment for students and teachers," State Superintendent Mike Ward said.

Schools receiving recognition as a Super Safe School are:

  • Brawley Middle (Iredell-Statesville Schools);
  • Clinton High (Clinton City Schools);
  • E.O. Young, Jr., Elementary (Vance County Schools);
  • Edwin A. Alderman Elementary (New Hanover County Schools);
  • First Flight Elementary (Dare County Schools);
  • First Flight Middle (Dare County Schools);
  • Four Oaks Middle (Johnston County Schools);
  • Fuquay-Varina High (Wake County Schools);
  • Glade Creek Elementary (Alleghany County Schools);
  • Mulberry Elementary (Wilkes County Schools);
  • North Asheboro Middle (Asheboro City Schools);
  • Pineville Elementary (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools);
  • Piney Creek School (Alleghany County Schools);
  • Rex-Rennert School (Robeson County Schools);
  • Rosenwald Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Scotland High (Scotland County Schools);
  • Shallotte Middle (Brunswick County Schools);
  • South Elementary (Mooresville City Schools);
  • South Granville High (Granville County Schools);
  • Swansboro Elementary (Onslow County Schools);
  • Tanglewood Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Unionville Elementary (Union County Schools);
  • Vandora Springs Elementary (Wake County Schools);
  • Warsaw Elementary (Duplin County Schools); and
  • West Lumberton Elementary (Robeson County Schools).

To receive recognition as a Super Safe School, schools voluntarily submitted a portfolio documenting the safety processes they had in place. On-site visits also were conducted prior to final recommendations. In recognition of their achievement, each school received a plaque designating them as a Triple "S" School for 2000-01.

Schools are not required to be recognized as Triple "S" Schools in order for principals and assistant principals to be eligible for safe schools salary incentives. For further information on the Super Safe School Program, please contact Marguerite Peebles, Section Chief, Alternative and Safe Schools/Instructional Support, DPI, 919.807.3940.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.