To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 2001-02 :: FEBRUARY 8, 2002


Thirty North Carolina public schools will be recognized Feb. 13 as "2001-02 Super Safe Schools" for providing a safe learning environment for children and educators. These schools will receive their awards during a luncheon ceremony at the fourth annual Safe, Orderly and Caring Schools Conference to be held at the Sheraton Four Seasons/Joseph S. Koury Convention Center, Greensboro.

The Triple "S" School Award was established by the Department of Public Instruction's School Improvement Division to recognize public schools that go above and beyond in their efforts to ensure the safety of students and staff. "High student achievement goes hand-in-hand with a safe learning environment. We applaud the efforts of these schools for going beyond the minimum to ensure that their students and teachers have the optimum atmosphere to learn and work," State Superintendent Mike Ward said.

Schools receiving recognition as a Super Safe School are:

  • North Graham Elementary (Alamance-Burlington Schools);
  • Piney Creek School (Alleghany County Schools);
  • North Asheboro Middle (Asheboro City Schools);
  • North Brunswick High (Brunswick County Schools);
  • Gamewell Middle (Caldwell County Schools);
  • Pineville Elementary (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools);
  • Clinton High (Clinton City Schools);
  • South Granville High (Granville County Schools);
  • Stovall-Shaw Elementary (Granville County Schools);
  • Snow Hill Primary (Greene County Schools);
  • East Iredell Middle (Iredell-Statesville Schools);
  • West End Elementary (Moore County Schools);
  • Coopers Elementary (Nash-Rocky Mount Schools);
  • Edwin A. Alderman Elementary (New Hanover County Schools);
  • Perquimans Central (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Perquimans County High (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Perquimans County Middle (Perquimans County Schools);
  • East Robeson Primary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Piney Grove Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Red Springs High (Robeson County Schools);
  • Rex-Rennert Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Rosenwald Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Rowland Norment Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Tanglewood Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • West Lumberton Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Thomasville Primary (Thomasville City Schools);
  • Wingate Elementary (Union County Schools);
  • Pinkston Street Elementary (Vance County Schools);
  • Vandora Springs Elementary (Wake County Schools); and
  • Burnsville Elementary (Yancey County Schools).

To receive recognition as a Super Safe School, schools voluntarily submit a portfolio documenting the safety processes they have in place. On-site visits also are conducted prior to final recommendations. In recognition of their achievement, each school will receive a plaque designating them as a Triple "S" School for 2001-02.

For further information on the Super Safe School Program, please contact Marguerite Peebles, Section Chief, Alternative and Safe Schools/Instructional Support, DPI, 919.807.3940.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.