To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 2005-06 :: SEPTEMBER 30, 2005


Nine North Carolina public schools were named 2005 No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon Schools by U.S. Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings. These schools are among 245 public and 50 private schools to achieve this honor.

North Carolina public schools receiving this prestigious recognition are: Clearmont Elementary, Yancey County Schools; Davidson Elementary, Elizabeth Lane Elementary, Hawk Ridge Elementary, and McKee Road Elementary, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools; Dr. Hubert Eaton Sr. Elementary, New Hanover County Schools; Morrisville Elementary, Wake County Schools; Rutherford College Elementary, Burke County Schools; and Tipton Hill Elementary. Mitchell County Schools.

In announcing the schools, U.S. Secretary of Education Spellings said, “These Blue Ribbon Schools are an example of what teachers and students can achieve. In the three-plus years since No Child Left Behind was signed into law, we've learned a new equation: accountability plus high expectations plus resources equals results.”

For the past 23 years, the U.S. Department of Education has recognized many of the nation's most successful schools through its Blue Ribbon Schools Program. Schools selected for this prestigious award model excellence in leadership, teaching, curriculum, student achievement and parental involvement. On July 28, 2002, Department officials announced that schools singled out for national honors must also reflect the goals of the nation's new education reforms for high standards and accountability found under No Child Left Behind.

Blue Ribbon Schools are selected based on one of three assessment criteria:

  • Schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that dramatically improve student performance on state tests, as determined by the state superintendent.
  • Schools whose students, regardless of background, achieve in the top 10 percent on state tests.
  • Private schools that achieve in the top 10 percent in the nation.

Of the schools submitted by each state, at least one-third must meet the criterion of having 40 percent of the students from disadvantaged backgrounds and showing dramatic improvement. State education departments nominate public schools for consideration. Once all nominations are received, the Secretary invites the nominated schools to submit applications for possible recognition as a No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon School.

Two representatives from each of these nine schools will be honored during a National Recognition Ceremony scheduled for Nov. 10-11 in Washington, DC, where they will receive a plaque and a flag signifying their No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon School status.

Additional information regarding the Blue Ribbon Schools Program is available online at or by contacting the NCDPI's Communications Division at 919.807.3450.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.