To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 2005-06 :: FEBRUARY 2, 2006


Thanks to their efforts to provide students and staff with a safe learning environment, 43 North Carolina public schools today were designated "2005-06 Super Safe Schools." Representatives of these schools received their awards during a luncheon ceremony at the 2006 Safe Schools and Character Education Conference being held in Greensboro.

The Department of Public Instruction's School Safety and Climate Division established the Triple "S" School Award to recognize public schools' exemplary efforts to ensure the safety of students and staff. "School safety is the number one concern of parents and the number one priority of schools, "State Superintendent June Atkinson said. "A safe learning environment and high student achievement go hand-in-hand. I congratulate these schools for working diligently to ensure the safety of their school community."

Super Safe Schools for 2005-06 are:

  • Alexander Central High (Alexander County Schools);
  • D.F. Walker Elementary (Edenton/Chowan Schools);
  • Chowan Middle (Edenton/Chowan Schools);
  • White Oak Elementary (Edenton/Chowan Schools);
  • Clinton High (Clinton City Schools);
  • Butler Avenue Elementary (Clinton City Schools);
  • Langdon C. Kerr Elementary (Clinton City Schools);
  • Ben D. Quinn Elementary (Craven County Schools);
  • North Duplin Elementary (Duplin County Schools);
  • Thomas Jefferson Middle (Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools)
  • North Gaston High (Gaston County Schools);
  • C.G. Credle Elementary (Granville County Schools);
  • Greene County Middle (Greene County Schools);
  • Sandy Grove Elementary (Hoke County Schools);
  • Pumpkin Center Elementary (Lincoln County Schools);
  • Pineville Elementary (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools);
  • Winstead Avenue Elementary (Nash-Rocky Mount Schools);
  • Hunters Creek Middle (Onslow County Schools);
  • Northwoods Park Middle (Onslow County Schools);
  • Richlands Primary (Onslow County Schools);
  • Hertford Grammar (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Perquimans County High (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Perquimans County Middle (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Perquimans Central (Perquimans County Schools);
  • Rowland Middle (Robeson County Schools);
  • Rosenwald Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Rowland Norment Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Oxendine Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Littlefield Middle (Robeson County Schools);
  • Tanglewood Elementary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Fairgrove Middle (Robeson County Schools);
  • East Robeson Primary (Robeson County Schools);
  • Hobbton Middle (Sampson County Schools);
  • Pisgah Forest Elementary (Transylvania County Schools);
  • Brevard Elementary (Transylvania County Schools);
  • Davidson River School (Transylvania County Schools);
  • Monroe High (Union County Schools);
  • Walter Bickett Elementary (Union County Schools);
  • Vandora Springs Elementary (Wake County Schools);
  • Brassfield Elementary (Wake County Schools);
  • Charles B. Aycock (Wayne County Schools);
  • Forbush High (Yadkin County Schools); and
  • Starmount High (Yadkin County Schools).

To receive recognition as a Super Safe School, schools voluntarily submit a portfolio documenting the safety processes they have in place. The portfolios are evaluated and the scores received determine which schools are recognized. In recognition of their achievement, each school will receive a plaque designating them as a Triple "S" School for 2005-06.

For more information on the Super Safe Schools program, please contact the NCDPI Communications & Information Division at 919.807.3450.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.