To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 2005-06 :: FEBRUARY 22, 2006


Eight principals were recently selected to represent their regions as regional Principals of the Year and will now compete for the title of 2006 Wachovia Principal of the Year. The winner will succeed the 2005 Wachovia Principal of the Year, Margaret Hyatt, principal of Avery’s Creek Elementary School, Buncombe County Schools.

The regional principals of the year are:

  • West Region: Judd Porter, Asheville High, Asheville City Schools;
  • Northwest Region: Jack Leonard, Walter R. Johnson Middle, Burke County Schools;
  • Southwest Region: Marian Yates, South Mecklenburg High, Charlotte/Mecklenburg Schools;
  • Piedmont-Triad/Central Region: Carol Younger, South Graham Elementary, Alamance-Burlington Schools;
  • Sandhills/South Central Region: Conrad Lopes, Jack Britt High, Cumberland County Schools
  • North Central Region: Chris Blice, Louisburg High, Franklin County Schools
  • Northeast Region: Allison Sholar, First Flight High, Dare County Schools; and
  • Southeast Region: Meghan Sweeney Doyle, Hunters Creek Middle, Onslow County Schools.

"Research has shown time and again that strong, vibrant schools are led by principals who exhibit similar qualities. These principals know what it takes to be successful in the classroom and how to facilitate strong student achievement," State Superintendent of Public Instruction June Atkinson said. "We are so fortunate to have a cadre of strong administrators in public schools across the state. I appreciate Wachovia Corporation’s continued support in helping us recognize some of our very best public school principals."

The State Selection Committee, chaired by the 2005 Wachovia Principal of the Year Margaret Hyatt, will visit each of the eight schools this month. Results of these site visits, portfolio assessments and personal interviews will be used to determine the 2006 Wachovia Principal of the Year.

The recipient will be announced on April 6 in Raleigh at a state luncheon sponsored by Wachovia Corporation to honor the regional winners. He or she will receive a $3,000 check for personal use and/or professional development and a $3,000 check for their school to purchase materials or other equipment. They also will serve a one-year term as advisor to the State Board of Education.

The Wachovia Principal of the Year program is co-sponsored by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, Wachovia Corporation and the Principals’ Executive Program. In its 23rd year, the program provides a unique opportunity to recognize outstanding principals from North Carolina public schools. The eight regional winners each received $1,500 for their school and $1,500 for personal use.

For more information, please contact the NCDPI’s Communications division at 919.807.3450.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.