To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 2005-06 :: APRIL 6, 2006


Marian Yates, principal of South Mecklenburg High School, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, today was named the 2006 North Carolina Wachovia Principal of the Year during a luncheon ceremony held in Raleigh. She succeeds Margaret Hyatt, principal of Avery's Creek Elementary School, Buncombe County Schools.

In naming Yates the 2006 North Carolina Wachovia Principal of the Year, Wachovia's Central North Carolina Regional President Jack Clayton said, "Our education system has never been at a more critical juncture than now and with administrators like Marian we can see how dedication and effort connects with students, staff and parents on so many levels at South Mecklenburg High School. So I'm pleased that we have the opportunity to reward her fine work and hold up Marian's example for others to hopefully follow."

State Board of Education Chairman Howard Lee commended Yates on her appointment saying, "Marian Yates is a wonderful example of the strong administrators leading our public schools. She models the work ethic and high expectations she expects from her staff and students. South Mecklenburg High is fortunate to have her at the helm, and we look forward to hearing her insights as she shares her wisdom with Board members during her term as advisor to the Board."

Yates was selected from among eight regional finalists following interviews by a regional panel of principals, teachers and professors from UNC-system institutions and on-site tours.

The other regional finalists were: West Region: Judd Porter, Asheville High, Asheville City Schools; Northwest Region: Jack Leonard, Walter R. Johnson Middle, Burke County Schools; Piedmont-Triad/Central Region: Carol Younger, South Graham Elementary, Alamance-Burlington Schools; Sandhills/South Central Region: Conrad Lopes, Jack Britt High, Cumberland County Schools; North Central Region: Chris Blice, Louisburg High, Franklin County Schools; Northeast Region: Allison Sholar, First Flight High, Dare County Schools; and Southeast Region: Meghan Sweeney Doyle, Hunters Creek Middle, Onslow County Schools. Each regional finalist received $1,500 for their school and $1,500 for personal use.

Yates will receive $3,000 for her school and $3,000 for personal use. She also will serve a one-year term as advisor to the State Board of Education.

The Wachovia Principal of the Year program is co-sponsored by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and Wachovia Corporation. In its 23rd year, the program provides a unique opportunity to recognize outstanding principals from North Carolina public schools.

For more information, please contact NCDPI's Communications division at 919.807.3450.



About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.