To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 2007-08 :: JANUARY 31, 2008


Eight principals were recently selected to represent their regions as regional Wachovia Principals of the Year and will now compete for the title of 2008 Wachovia Principal of the Year. The winner will succeed the 2007 Wachovia Principal of the Year, Craig Hill, former principal of Kinston High School (Lenoir County Schools) and currently an assistant superintendent with Wilson County Public Schools.

The regional Wachovia principals of the year are:

North Central Cathy Moore Sanderson High Wake County Schools
Northeast Arty Tillet First Flight High Dare County Schools
Northwest Danny Cartner South Davie Middle Davie County Schools
Southeast Lori Howard Clyde Erwin Elementary Onslow County Schools
Southwest Debra Morris A.L. Brown High Kannapolis City Schools
Sandhills/South Central Vicky Kirby Pate Gardner Elementary Scotland County Schools
Piedmont-Triad/Central Nakia Hardy Broadview Middle Alamance-Burlington Schools
West Thomas Keever Valley Springs Middle Buncombe County Schools

"These outstanding school administrators truly lead by example. Their enthusiasm, encouragement and optimism are reflected in the vibrant learning and teaching environment at their schools," State Superintendent of Public Instruction June Atkinson said. "I can't thank Wachovia Corporation enough for its continued support of this recognition program, which allows us to publicly recognize these wonderful examples of the types of principals leading public schools across the state."

A State Selection Committee will review the portfolios of the eight regional winners and then visit each candidate's school campus. Results of these site visits, portfolio assessments and personal interviews will be used to determine the 2008 Wachovia Principal of the Year.

The recipient will be announced on April 3 in Raleigh at a state luncheon sponsored by Wachovia Corporation to honor the regional winners. He or she will receive a $3,000 check for personal use and/or professional development and a $3,000 check for their school to purchase materials or other equipment. They also will serve a one-year term as advisor to the State Board of Education. The eight regional winners each will receive $1,500 for personal use and $1,500 for their school.

Since the program began in 1984, the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and Wachovia Corporation have recognized 27 Wachovia Principals of the Year, 170 regional recipients, and 2,234 local recipients. In addition, Wachovia has provided more than $1 million in cash awards to these individuals. In its 25th year, the program provides a unique opportunity to recognize outstanding principals from North Carolina public schools.

For more information, please contact the NCDPI's Communications division at 919.807.3450.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.