To access Quick Links, visit our text-only version.

. Public Schools of North Carolina . . State Board of Education . . Department Of Public Instruction .


NEWS RELEASES 2007-08 :: FEBRUARY 11, 2008


Forty-eight North Carolina public schools were recently designated 2007-08 Super Safe Schools in recognition of their exemplary efforts in providing a safe working and learning environment for educators and students. Representatives of these schools received their awards during a luncheon ceremony held last week at the 2008 Safe Schools and Character Education Conference in Greensboro.

State Superintendent June Atkinson underscored the connection between school safety and student achievement. "It's hard for students to focus on learning and academics if they're concerned about their safety," Atkinson said. "Creating a safe learning environment is an important foundation for learning," she added.

The Department of Public Instruction's School Safety and Climate Division established the Super Safe Schools awards program to recognize schools for "decreasing the incidence of school crime and violence, and implementing strategies for maintaining safe, orderly and caring schools as evidenced by school data." To receive recognition as a Super Safe School, schools voluntarily submit a portfolio documenting the safety processes they have in place. The portfolios are evaluated and the scores received determine which schools are recognized.

The following schools received a plaque in recognition of their honor as 2007-08 Super Safe Schools:

Bladenboro Primary, Bladen County Schools
South Brunswick Middle, Brunswick County Schools
Langdon C. Kerr Elementary, Clinton City Schools
Clinton High, Clinton City Schools
Chowan Middle, Edenton-Chowan Schools
D.F. Walker Elementary, Edenton-Chowan Schools
White Oak Elementary, Edenton-Chowan Schools
Northeastern High, Elizabeth City-Pasquotank Public Schools
Greene Central High, Greene County Schools
Greene County Middle, Greene County Schools
Snow Hill Primary, Greene County Schools
West Greene Elementary, Greene County Schools
Viewmont Elementary, Hickory City Schools
Sandy Grove Elementary, Hoke County Schools
West Iredell High, Iredell-Statesville Schools
South Lenoir High, Lenoir County Schools
Dixon Middle, Onslow County Schools
Hunters Creek Middle, Onslow County Schools
Jacksonville Commons Middle, Onslow County Schools
New Bridge Middle, Onslow County Schools
Silverdale Elementary, Onslow County Schools
Southwest High, Onslow County Schools
Southwest Middle, Onslow County Schools
Swansboro Middle, Onslow County Schools
Hertford Grammar, Perquimans County Schools
Perquimans Central, Perquimans County Schools
Perquimans County Middle, Perquimans County Schools
Phoenix Academy Charter, Guilford County
Monroe Avenue Elementary, Richmond County Schools
Richmond Primary, Richmond County Schools
East Robeson Primary, Public Schools of Robeson County
Littlefield Middle, Public Schools of Robeson County
Long Branch Elementary, Public Schools of Robeson County
Rosenwald Elementary, Public Schools of Robeson County
Oxendine Elementary, Public Schools of Robeson County
Rowland Middle, Public Schools of Robeson County
Orrum Middle, Public Schools of Robeson County
Rowland–Norment Elementary, Public Schools of Robeson County
Running Creek Elementary, Stanly County Schools
Rosman Elementary, Transylvania County Schools
Monroe High, Union County Schools
Piedmont Middle, Union County Schools
Walter Bickett Elementary, Union County Schools
Weddington Middle, Union County Schools
Reedy Creek Middle, Wake County Schools
Vandora Springs Elementary, Wake County Schools
Forbush High, Yadkin County Schools
Yadkin Success Academy, Yadkin County Schools

For more information on the Super Safe Schools recognition program, please contact the NCDPI Communications division at 919.807.3450.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 126 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.