NEWS RELEASES 2010-11 :: FEBRUARY 11, 2011


Sixty-five local school superintendents and technology directors from across the state are more technologically savvy thanks to their recent completion of the Leaders for the 21st Century and Certified Educational Chief Technology Officers program. The certification program is offered through a partnership between the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI), MCNC and the UNC School of Government’s Center for Public Technology. (A list of graduates by district is available at the end of the release.)

"Congratulations to our newly-minted graduates. It was an absolute pleasure to have such talented and inspiring participants in our inaugural class and we thank each of them for their tireless commitment to North Carolina public school students, teachers, parents, and communities," said UNC School of Government Center for Public Technology Director Shannon Tufts. Tufts went on to say that she looks forward to working with educators participating in the second certification class. "We are so proud of our public school superintendents and CTOs for their willingness to learn and improve in order to positively impact student near-term and lifelong education and attainment," Tufts said.

NCDPI Chief Information Officer Peter Asmar also congratulated program graduates. "Technology is an integral component of a 21st century education, and it is essential that our superintendents and Chief Technology Officers have the skills and knowledge to effectively incorporate technology in all aspects that supports student learning," Asmar said.

The certification programs’ goals are to help school leaders manage the expanding role of information technology, protect the district from security threats, and keep pace with new technology trends. Superintendents participate in the Leaders for the 21st Century certification program – a 20-hour instructional program. Technology directors participate in the Certified Educational Chief Technology Officers certification program – a 240-hour instructional program.

Superintendents and technology directors from 18 school districts and principals and technology directors from two charter schools are participating in the second information technology certification program. The format for the program remains consistent with the inaugural program with minor changes based upon participant program feedback. Instruction for this class began Feb. 8 and will conclude with a graduation ceremony on Nov. 9. (A list of program participants by district/charter school is available at the end of the release.)

For more information, please contact the NCDPI’s Communications division at 919.807.3450 or Shannon Tufts, director of the UNC School of Government Center for Public Technology, at 919.962.5438.

2010 Certification Program Graduates:

School District Superintendent Technology Director
Alleghany County Schools Jeff Cox Leslie Clark
Avery County Schools Keith Eades Dennis Brown
Caldwell County Schools Steve Stone Raymond Norman
Caswell County Schools Douglas Barker David Useche
Catawba County Schools Tim Markley Judith Ray
Cherokee County Schools Stephen Lane Jeana Hardin
Currituck County Schools Meghan Doyle Paul O’Briant
Edenton-Chowan Schools Allan Smith Nelle Hyatt
Franklin County Schools Edward Ingram Christopher Shearer
Halifax County Schools Elease Frederick Stacy Lee
Harnett County Schools Phillip Ferrell Thomas Frye
Haywood County Schools Anne Garrett Nathan Trantham
Hoke County Schools Freddie Williamson Jason Atkinson
Hyde County Schools Gregory Todd Shelby Gibbs
Lee County Schools Jeff Moss Cindy Johnson
Lenior County Schools Terry Cline Philip Decker
Lincoln County Schools David Martin Lee O'Neal
Macon County Schools Dan Brigman Tim Burrell
Mitchell County Schools Brock Womble Janie Duncan
Moore County Schools Susan Purser Anthony Tuso
Mt. Airy City Schools Darrin Hartness Judy Walker
Orange County Schools Patrick Rhodes Angela Veitch
Person County Schools Larry Cartner Deborah Burleson-Smith
Polk County Schools William Miller David Scherping
Rockingham Co. Schools Rodney Shotwell Dennis Frye/Lee Cummings
Stanly County Schools Samuel DePaul Brandon DeLeeuw
Surry County Schools Ashley Hinson Jill Reinhardt
Transylvania Co. Schools Jeffrey McDaris Donys Merrill
Vance County Schools Norman Shearin Marsha Abbott
Warren County Schools Ray Spain Christopher Withrow
Whiteville City Schools Tom Hager Anthony Martin
Yancey County Schools Tom Little Walter Peterson


2011 Certification Program Participants:

School District Superintendent Technology Director
Anson County Greg Firn Georgia Maner
Brunswick County Edward Pruden Leonard Jenkins
Cabarrus County Barry Shepherd Katherine Propst
Casa Esperanza Montessori Charter Janice Bonham-West Lynne Hudson
Chatham County Robert Logan Keith Medlin
Cumberland County Frank Till Kevin Coleman
Duplin County Austin Obasohan Dawn Craft
Harnett County Phillip Ferrell Jeff Pittman
Henderson County David Jones Arnold Fender
Jackson County Sue Nations David Proffitt
Jones County Michael Bracy Victor Coleman
Nash-Rocky Mount Connie Luper Jane Finch
Pamlico County James Coon Joseph Spruill
Pender County Allison Sholar Landon Scism
Randolph County Donald Andrews Nan York
Roanoke Rapids City Dennis Sawyer Mark Kuchenbrod
Stokes County Stewart Hobbs Sarah Wood
Union Academy Charter Raymond Reinsant Celest O’Brien
Watauga County Marty Hemric Scarlet Davis
Weldon City Elie Bracy Alicianiah Hossein

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 160 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.