NEWS RELEASES 2012-13 :: MARCH 13, 2013


Eight outstanding public school principals have been selected as regional Wells Fargo North Carolina Principals of the Year and will now compete for the state title of 2013 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year. The winner will succeed the 2012 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year Patrice Faison. Faison is principal of Oak Hill Elementary (Guilford County Schools).

The regional principals of the year are:

  • North Central Region: Leondus Farrow, Jr., Rocky Mount High (Nash-Rocky Mount Schools);
  • Northeast Region: Dale Cole, Chocowinity Middle (Beaufort County Schools);
  • Northwest Region: Elizabeth Rosenbalm, Conover School (Newton-Conover City Schools);
  • Southeast Region: Wesley Johnson, Hobbton High (Sampson County Schools);
  • Southwest Region: Lynn Rhymer, Central Cabarrus High (Cabarrus County Schools);
  • Sandhills/South Central Region: Wendy Jordan, Mineral Springs Elementary, (Richmond County Schools);
  • Piedmont-Triad/Central Region: Leigh Jones, Dalton L. McMichael High (Rockingham County Schools); and
  • West Region: Ricky Tipton, East Yancey Middle (Yancey County Schools).

"These eight talented administrators are wonderful examples of the principals who lead public schools across our state. I congratulate them and commend their efforts to ensure that students are prepared for the next grade level and for life after high school," said State Superintendent June Atkinson. "Thanks also to the Wells Fargo Foundation for their faithful sponsorship of this program, which allows us to recognize school leaders who work so hard on behalf of North Carolina's students."

A state selection committee will review the portfolios of the eight regional winners and visit each candidate's school campus. Results of these site visits, portfolio assessments and personal interviews will be used to determine the 2013 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year.

The recipient will be announced on April 4 in Raleigh during a luncheon sponsored by Wells Fargo to honor the regional winners. The Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year will receive a $3,000 check for personal use and/or professional development and a $3,000 check for his or her school to purchase materials or other equipment. The winner also will serve a one-year term as advisor to the State Board of Education. The eight regional winners each will receive $1,000 for personal use and $1,000 for their schools.

Since the program began in 1984, the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and The Wells Fargo Foundation have recognized 33 Principals of the Year, and 218 regional recipients. In addition, The Wells Fargo Foundation has provided more than $1 million in cash awards to these individuals. In its 29th year, the program provides a unique opportunity to recognize outstanding principals from North Carolina public schools.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 160 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.