NEWS RELEASES 2013-14 :: JANUARY 31, 2014


Eight outstanding public school principals have been selected as regional Wells Fargo North Carolina Principals of the Year and will now compete for the state title of 2014 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year. The winner will succeed the 2013 recipient, Dale Cole, principal of Chocowinity Middle (Beaufort County Schools).

The regional principals of the year are:

  • Northeast Region: Billie Berry, Camden County High (Camden County Schools);
  • Southeast Region: Frances Herring, Contentnea-Savannah K-8 School (Lenoir County Schools);
  • North Central Region: Larry Webb, Eaton-Johnson Middle (Vance County Schools);
  • Sandhills/South Central Region: Robin Calcutt, New Century Middle, (Moore County Schools);
  • Piedmont-Triad/Central Region: Amy Rickard, Morris Grove Elementary (Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools);
  • Southwest Region: Brad Breedlove, Monroe High (Union County Schools);
  • Northwest Region: Carrie Tulbert, Mooresville Middle (Mooresville Graded School District); and
  • West Region: Brad Richardson, Forest City-Dunbar Elementary (Rutherford County Schools).

"Congratulations to these talented administrators on this well-deserved honor. Our principals work so hard to be strong instructional leaders and to ensure students are prepared to succeed," said State Superintendent June Atkinson. "Thanks to the Wells Fargo Foundation for its faithful sponsorship of this program to recognize exemplary public school leaders."

A state selection committee will review the portfolios of the eight regional winners and conduct an extensive interview process before selecting the 2014 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year.

The recipient will be announced on May 1 in Cary during a luncheon sponsored by Wells Fargo to honor the regional winners. The Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year will receive a $3,000 check for personal use and/or professional development and a $3,000 check for his or her school to purchase materials or other equipment. The winner also will serve a one-year term as advisor to the State Board of Education. The regional winners will receive $1,000 for personal use and $1,000 for their schools.

This year marks 30 years of a partnership between the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and The Wells Fargo Foundation. Since the program began in 1984, 34 Principals of the Year and 227 regional recipients have been recognized. In addition, The Wells Fargo Foundation has provided more than $1 million in cash awards to these individuals.

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 160 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.