NEWS RELEASES 2014-15 :: MAY 21, 2015


Twenty-four North Carolina public high school students recently received a National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) Scholarship and will each receive $1,000 for post-secondary education. NTHS scholarship recipients are Career and Technical Education students who display high academic and technical competence, leadership skills and a focus on community service.

State Superintendent June Atkinson, a former business education teacher and director of the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction’s Career and Technical Education (CTE) Division, congratulated the students saying, “CTE will always be near and dear to my heart. These students exemplify the academic, career, and leadership skills needed to ensure success after high school graduation and in life.”

The 2015 Jon H. Poteat North Carolina scholarship recipients are:
Anna Morphey, Cox Mill High School, Cabarrus County Schools
Sidney Gray, A.L. Brown High School, Kannapolis City Schools
Julius Goble, Bunker Hill High School, Catawba County Schools
Dana Hart, Chatham Central High School, Chatham County Schools
Kelsey Humphries, East Duplin High School, Duplin County Schools
Blair Dixon, Northern Guilford High School, Guilford County Schools
Edward Tredinnick, Southeast High School, Guilford County Schools
Chandler Williams, East Lincoln High School, Lincoln County Schools
Elizabeth Kaeser, Ardrey Kell High School, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
Muhammad Siddique, Mallard Creek High School, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
H Yin Siu, Phillip O. Berry Academy of Technology, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
Lauren Joy, William A. Hough High School, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
Shannon Robinson, Swansboro High School, Onslow County Schools
Destiny Brooks, Orange High School, Orange County Schools
Jaein Yoon, D. H. Conley High School, Pitt County Schools
Cheyenne Bullard, Early College High School, Public Schools of Robeson County
Camry Ocean, South Robeson High School, Public Schools of Robeson County
Juanita Haynes, Chase High School, Rutherford County Schools
Matthew Agius, Green Hope High School, Wake County Schools
Alexandria Vaughan, Heritage High School, Wake County Schools
Breanna Wyant, Holly Springs High School, Wake County Schools
Earlmari Jones, Fike High School, Wilson County Schools
Natalie O'Brien, Fike High School, Wilson County Schools
Marisol Maldonado, Starmount High School, Yadkin County Schools

The NTHS Scholarship is named in honor and memory of the organization’s co-founder Jon H. Poteat. The scholarships are awarded annually to NTHS members who consistently exemplify the seven character attributes of the NTHS: Skill, Honesty, Service, Responsibility, Scholarship, Citizenship and Leadership.

Students may apply for the 2016 Jon H. Poteat Scholarship beginning Sept. 1 at

About the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction:
The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction provides leadership to 115 local public school districts and 160 charter schools serving over 1.5 million students in kindergarten through high school graduation. The agency is responsible for all aspects of the state's public school system and works under the direction of the North Carolina State Board of Education.

For more information:
NCDPI Communication and Information Division, 919.807.3450.