CONTACT :: Freda Lee

The National Title I Distinguished Schools program recognizes exemplary Title I schools that hold students to high standards and demonstrate exemplary school effectiveness in:

  • teaching and learning based on the approved state curriculum,
  • use of research-based instructional strategies,
  • opportunities provided for all students to achieve,
  • established partnerships with parents, families, and the community,
  • implementation of sustained research-based professional development, and
  • innovation and modeling for other schools.

Selected schools are recognized in one of two categories.

Schools in the Sustained Achievement category are recognized for showing a high (at least 80 percent) level of student proficiency in reading and mathematics and making Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) for the most recent two years.

Schools in the Closing the Achievement Gap category are recognized for making significant progress in closing the achievement gap between student groups.

Since 1996, North Carolina has recognized Title I schools through this program, sponsored by the National Title I Association. Each year two North Carolina schools are recognized at the national level. More stories, information, and resources about the selection process and recognized schools are on this site.