SUPERINTENDENTS' MESSAGES 2014

MESSAGES 2014 :: MARCH 3, 2014

Webinar Information & READY IV Updates

Dear Superintendents,
There are two events coming up that I need to bring to your attention.

  • First, tomorrow's Home Base Project Update and the update webinars throughout March are open for your registration. Just click on the links below to register. If weather is a problem for tomorrow, we will notify you via email.

Home Base Project Update

Register for a session now by clicking a date below:

Tue, Mar 4, 2014 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM EST
Tue, Mar 11, 2014 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM EDT
Tue, Mar 18, 2014 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM EDT
Tue, Mar 25, 2014 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM EDT

Second, the READY IV meetings begin next Tuesday, March 11, in Region 4.

So far, I have RSVPs from Anson,Columbus, Cumberland, Flemington Academy, Hoke, Montgomery, and SEGS Academy. If you plan to attend the READY IV meeting in Region 4, please take a look at the invitation details below and RSVP as indicated.

As we enter the homestretch of the Race to the Top grant, we are offering a fourth round of READY meetings to update you on priority streams of work, and as always, to provide ample time for feedback.

We know that there have been concerns around the progress of Home Base, and we understand the need for more information and input. To this end, the READY Regional Outreach Meetings will reserve a significant segment of time devoted to updating you on the status of Home Base across the state and opt-in information for the 2014-15 school year. In addition, we will provide you with updates on the Educator Effectiveness plan along with the latest on the General Assembly's School Performance Grades, which will be reported in August based on the 2013-14 school year's results.

There are key leaders in your central office and community whose work is directly affected by the issues we will discuss. For this reason, we encourage you to please invite the person in the following positions (or an appropriate designee) to attend the READY meeting in your region with you:

  • Curriculum and Instruction Director
  • Human Resources Director
  • Technology Director
  • Finance Director
  • Data Manager
  • Parent Representative, such as a PTA President

Below are the meeting dates, times and locations for each region. Please RSVP to Joyce Myers, joyce.myers@dpi.nc.gov, (preferred RSVP deadlines are indicated for each region).

Region 1 – Friday, March 21, 12:30 TO 3:30 PM - Washington Civic Center (RSVP deadline, Friday, Feb. 28)
Region 2 – Monday, April 14, 1:30 TO 4:30 PM – Wilmington Convention Center (RSVP deadline, Monday, March 24)
Region 3 – Wednesday, March 26, 9 AM TO NOON - Durham Public Schools Staff Development Center (RSVP deadline, Wednesday, March 5)
Region 4 – Tuesday, March 11, 1:30 TO 4:30 PM – Cumberland County Education Resource Center (RSVP deadline, Tuesday, Feb. 25)
Region 5 – Wednesday, April 9, 9 AM TO NOON – The Event Center at Summit Square, Winston-Salem (RSVP deadline, Wednesday, March 19)
Region 6 – Thursday, March 20, 9 AM TO NOON – North Carolina Research Center, Kannapolis (RSVP deadline, Thursday, Feb. 27)
Regions 7 and 8 - Thursday, April 10, 9 AM TO NOON – DoubleTree Asheville (RSVP deadline, Thursday, March 20)
Again, please DO NOT REPLY TO THIS E-MAIL, but instead, RSVP to Joyce Myers at joyce.myers@dpi.nc.gov.